A summer with Tolkien, Book 3 Chapter 6- The King of the Golden Hall

We’re ten days away from the end of August. Is that the official end of summer? I’m going to ignore it as where I am, we’d need to be well in October before it even starts cooling down (and which is when I estimate I’m going to get to Book 6) so I’m still going to title my blog series, ‘A summer with Tolkien’.

Chapter summary

  • Gandalf and the others ride towards Meduseld. They are given a cold welcome to Theoden’s court.
  • Gandalf brings Theoden out of the darkness, renewing him in the process.
  • Gandalf convinces Theoden of the necessity to attach Saruman at Isengard.
  • Theoden and his company ride away immediately leaving Eowyn in charge of Meduseld.
Meduseld was of wood but this image is that of a golden hall at Hyderabad, India

This is a chapter I did not remember very well from the time I read it more than 15 years ago. Reading it again was quite refreshing and once again put into contrast the version of the story from the movies. In fact from here on, until the end of Book 3, the movie diverges quite dramatically from the book- which is understandable. You have to make the movie dramatic. Things that work in the book cannot work in the movie.

For one, Eomer in the movie has been banished by Theoden/ Grima. Although Eomer is put in a dungeon in the book, he is not sent away and at the end of the chapter rides away with Theoden.

Theoden in the movie is quite visibly upset with the death of his son Theodred just five days ago, making him very human. In the book, Theoden makes only one reference to Theodred, his slain son, right at the end before he rides off, naming Eomer his heir.

“Behold! I go forth, and it seems like to be my last riding,” said Theoden. “I have no child. Theodred my son is slain. I name Eomer my sister-son to be my heir.”

Golden Windows- National Museum Tokyo

In fact, everything is so rushed in the book. The sense I get is of Theoden emerging out of the dark space with Gandalf’s help and immediately feeling a bit ashamed/ embarrassed that he had succumbed to this mind-melding and would like to redeem himself with a battle. Gandalf himself is not above some very real intimidation of the guards at Edoras. After looking sharply at the guard

“His eyes glinted under his deep brows as he bent his gaze upon the man.”

The poor guard has no option but to go and report the new arrivals. Then the scene at the door when they are asked to leave their arms behind. Gandalf is all for everyone removing their weapons until he himself is asked to leave his staff behind for which he gets angry and then it is Aragorn’s turn to intervene.

“Every man has something too dear to trust to another.”

Hama does realise he’s being hoodwinked by Gandalf but he very generously lets them in saying

“Yet in doubt a man of worth will trust to his own wisdom. I believe you are friends and folk worthy of honour, who have no evil purpose. You may go in.”

You’ve also got to love how Gimli looks at Hama like he is a young tree that Gimli had a mind to fell. You can always count on a dwarf to defend you if they’re your friends.

The walls were covered with tapestries

What I found surprising was the description of Grima as “a wizened figure of a man, with a pale wise face and heavy-lidded eyes.” I can go with the wizened but was a little taken back by the wise face. As Gandalf is always one for compassion wherever possible, he counsels Theoden not to harm Grima even after his treachery is revealed.

“See, Theoden, here is a snake! With safety you cannot take it with you, nor can you leave it behind. To slay it would be just. But it was not always as it now is. Once it was a man, and did you service in its fashion. Give him a horse and let him go at once, wherever he chooses. By his choice you shall judge him.”

On a linguistic note, Tolkien casually drops some phrases from the tongue of the Rohirrim without any translations (Westu Theoden Hal & Ferthu Theoden Hal). I think I read that It was Tolkien’s belief that you didn’t have to parse each and every word to get the meaning, if you got the general sense , it was more than sufficient. (From google university, I understand that Westu can be a derivant of Old English/ Germanic ‘wesan’ to be and Ferthu from ‘faran’, thereby roughly translating to be well and fare thee well).

Also I’d never heard of the word ‘froward’. When Theoden says about Eomer that “faithful heart may have froward tongue.” The dictionary defines froward as ‘difficult to deal with, contrary’. Eomer hardly appears as difficult to deal with or contrary. He appears generous and brave on the contrary. Even towards the end of the chapter where he offers to give Gimli a ride, apologising once again for speaking ill of Galadriel.

Of course, I can’t finish this without talking about Eowyn. She is truly almost the only normal (in the sense of not supernaturally gifted) female character who can stand on her own with all the other male characters. Tolkien was of his time and he was inspired by the tales of old. Bold and daring women really don’t feature much, so I guess we have to be thankful that Tolkien at least put in one strong female character, even if she does give up her unconventional swords for a more conventional healing profession instead. But I get ahead of myself. Far ahead.

Golden Hall- Topkapi Palace Istanbul

3 Comments Add yours

  1. bwcarey says:

    love the images, thanks

  2. Nirmala says:

    Letting Grima go was similar to what Gandalf says about Gollum also I feel. But Gollum did serve a purpose. Grima, not so sure. Book also deals with each part separately while the movie kept showing simulataneously,side by side, what happens to Frodo Sam ,MerryPippin with Treebeard, and Helms deep . I was wondering which one I preferred! Maybe the book dealing separately. I also liked the movie showing the dramatic change in Theoden coming back into light.

  3. Lav says:

    It was interesting that Gandalf advises pragmatic compassion. Give the person choice, but not leave him in your home. Walking that middle line is hard. We always err to one side or another…

Leave a comment