What are you doing for the environment?

Almost all of us bloggers here on wordpress love those beautiful landscape images. Images of unbroken canopies of forest green or verdant slopes of alpine mountains in spring, of unsullied crystal blue waters of a stream or even the sparkling sands of a desert. We love them all and can’t get enough of them either through our own holidays to connect with nature or vicariously through photographs and videos posted by others.

And yet with every passing day all of these landscapes are changing- most of them deteriorating as a direct result of human activity. Awareness- of at least some of the headline problems is not low and yet awareness hardly translates into action- and I include myself.

Last weekend on my very quick trip to Copenhagen I found this very interesting installation of a fish in Helsingor (near Elsinor castle  of Hamlet fame). The fish has apparently been constructed from the various flotsam and jetsam that had accumulated around the area. It is a powerful piece of art also because it is true. We constantly read about how sea animals both big and small die of consuming plastic and other metal components that we continue to dump into the oceans.

Fish made of all the crap that washes ashore
Fish made of all the crap that washes ashore- Helsingor, Denmark

We celebrate so many days- Water Day, Earth Day, Environment Day but do we really think about how we can reverse this degradation or do we just turn a blind eye? I have started carrying a bag with me on my evening walks so I can say no to plastic bags- shops here in Dubai don’t charge you money to sell you plastic bags so sooner or later you start accumulating so many bags you run the risk of drowning in them (especially if you live in a studio like I do). It’s a super small step but a step nevertheless and one that I hope I can grow on. I would like to hear from all of you about the things that you do to make sure we keep our planet healthy.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. tskraghu says:

    A long story…In my recent visit to Srirangam, I saw mounds of plastic bags, pouches strewn all over. Of the few things I did, would like to mention one: Found who is the president of traders and shop-keepers’ association. Met him and requested him to insist on keeping a rubbish-pail in front of every shop. And hold the shop-keeper responsible for keeping his shop front clean. The guy agreed with me. I’ll check on my next visit though I’ve little hopes. If you observe shops collect heck of a lot of waste in their front of discarded things.

    I met many in authority, the story is long.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Small steps- maybe one of the shops still has the rubbish bin and people actually use it!

  2. Nirmala says:

    Yes we seriously must avoid plastic bags. That would be the big step.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      True!

Leave a Reply

