U for Umm Qais, Gadara of the Ancient World

First of all, here’s a big round of applause to everyone who has made it to the final week of the A to Z Challenge. Just this week folks and then we’re done! I know I haven’t been regular commenting or visiting- just keeping up with the blog posting is keeping me busy.

Getting to today’s post I’m very excited to talk about one of the most amazing ancient ruins in Jordan- Umm Qais- ancient town of Gadara.

Gadara was founded in the 4th Century BCE. It was part of an ancient league of cities on the eastern frontier of the Roman Empire which was called the Decapolis. Gadara saw growth under Pompey (the Great as opposed to Pompeii the city). You can see a number of ruins from the Roman times today at Umm Qais.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Roman Amphitheatre at Gadara- Notice the row of special seats with backrests
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Corinthian Columns of Black Basalt

One of the best parts of Umm Qais is the lovely vista you have over Lake Tiberia and Golan heights.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The vista from Umm Qais
8 Comments Add yours

  1. The columns my favorite – great shots. That must have been quite an excursion back in time.
    It’s been another gr8 A to Z challenge to be sure.
    Im blogging from Fill the cracks and Moondustwriter’s Blog. Happy A to Zing!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m glad you liked the pics from Umm Qais. I haven’t been able to visit too many blogs but I look forward to catching up in May!

  2. Lav says:

    It was a wonderful place! Lovely pictures…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It was fun visiting with you!

  3. Vicky says:

    Lovely to see your views of Umm Qais, thanks for sharing and yes it’s been a great challenge, I’ve had a lot of fun doing this as I am sure you have… perhaps in May I can revisit all of those blogs I didn’t get the chance to see, but I’m glad I found yours early on!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Vicky, I have a LOT of catching up to do especially as I didn’t get to visit many blogs in April- see you around!

  4. Nirmala says:

    Amazing!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you- it was really amazing! I loved it!

Leave a Reply

