K for Kaymakli Underground City

Before I dive into today’s subject I must make a confession- I haven’t planned out the A to Z Challenge in advance. So everyday, I sit in front of my computer and make things up. Sometimes I miss good alphabet opportunities just because I didn’t think of something before I wrote up another post. Other times I am just stuck for themes- like today. I spent a very long time agonising over what I would write and almost gave up before I suddenly realised I had it.

Kaymakli Underground City is a World Heritage Site in central Turkey. It’s about 20kms away from the city of Nevsehir (which in turn means New City). The underground city is a massive system of interconnected underground caves. We were told that the earliest caves were built by the Phyrigians in the 8th or 7th Century BCE. The caves were expanded by generations after generations of peoples who were persecuted or had something to hide from above the ground. You will hear stories of early Christians persecuted by Romans.

Yes, you will truly need to be in a desperate situation if you decided to live underground in the caves. It is not funny- just 45 minutes under the ground was already beginning to suffocate me- I wanted to get out and feel fresh air. Imagine living there for months together. Sure, there were air wells and shafts but hiding under ground cannot have been easy on a person.

There were nearly 8 levels of tunnels that were functional. Tourists don’t get to visit all the levels (thankfully!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Underground Network of Tunnels- but remember at that time there would have been little or no lights.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Rolling Stone Doors That Could be Used to Quickly Shut off pathways
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another Network of Tunnels
13 Comments Add yours

  1. roofbreaker says:

    So interesting I love stuff like this.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much and I’m really sorry I’m only now getting back!

      1. roofbreaker says:

        No problem!!😊

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yep, it was stupendous!

  2. I saw a documentary on this on TV about a year or so ago. Very cool what they could build without our modern tools and make it last.

    Susan Says

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s exactly it. They did so much without any of the modern tools or techniques that we have today and yet they did amazing things.

  3. What an experience it must’ve been to be there. So hard to imagine living like that. (Glad you found your inspiration for today!)

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes, I kept thinking it must have been so immensely difficult!

  4. Nirmala says:

    Visiting the under ground city has been an unbelievable experience. I am glad I made it!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hurray that you made it!

  5. ANDREA says:

    Such an educational blog! I will spend more time here. 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Andrea! I’m delighted that you find my blog interesting

Leave a Reply

