B for Bhimbetka Caves (Ancient World Theme)

Bhimbetka Caves is an ancient archaeological site near Bhopal in Madhya Pradesh, India. The caves were shelters for ancient humans (some estimates put them at 100,000 years) but they are most known for their spectacular rock art. The rock shelters are full of amazing drawings made by hundreds of generations of people living in the caves- that’s right the cave art is not all from the same time. Archaeologists estimate the time the drawings were made by the kind of patterns in the artwork.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Known as the Zoo rock for the hundreds of animal figures drawn on its surface.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Details of a hunt scene

Near the modern entrance to the cave systems one can see a the outline of a small hand drawn  on to the rock. Some things remain immortal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hand Stamped in Time

Bhimbetka caves is a listed World Heritage site. It takes about an hour to get to the site from Bhopal. If you come early enough in the mornings it is a nice long walk on the road leading up to the caves from the highway.

B
B for Bhimbetka Caves
21 Comments Add yours

  1. Great images, thanks for sharing…..

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Santosh- I have tons more. I even had a video but I seem to have lost the files 😦

      1. Thats sad, do try and trace it and upload it. I wanted to visit the caves, but work being what it is, I could not 😦

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Will do- hopefully I’ve got it backed up on a hard drive somewhere!

  2. Tom Schultz says:

    Fascinating to see these drawings from so long ago!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Indeed- tens of thousands of years old. Humans have always wanted to reach out and express themselves!

      1. Tom Schultz says:

        yes, they have. and the drawings are the proof. very profound. thanks for sharing.

  3. mukul chand says:

    lovely post, is indeed a fantastic site.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Mukul!

  4. Just fascinating, Sukanya. I find the ancient cave art just mind-boggling!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Me too! It makes you think about the lives our ancestors lived!

  5. Christine says:

    This place is so cool! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Christine! It is a fascinating place to visit!

  6. Hi there!

    I’m stopping by from the #AtoZChallenge. I love the blogs I visit who take me on a journey to faraway places…and then I get to learn something new along the way. Nice post!

    I have two blogs in this challenge…my author blog at THE STORY CATCHER (www.donnalmartin.com) and my KICKS Kids Club blog (www.kickskidsclub.blogspot.com) . If you get a chance, check them out and good luck with the challenge!

    Donna L Martin

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Even before you started this challenge, I loved how your pictures always come with a history lesson or story of some sort!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much! I often don’t feel very happy about my posts- they are always hastily done (after a long day of work just before I fall asleep). I feel that with a bit of research and thought I could do even better but oh well! Thanks for visiting 🙂

  8. Nirmala says:

    Amazing place!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It is! I’m glad I went there with you 🙂

  9. Lav says:

    I got a thrill from just spotting various animals from your photo of the rocks. I can only imagine how wonderful it must be to see them in real life…

Leave a Reply

