Random Musings

Theme a la Murakami

Working in my hotel room in the middle of nowhere, I was suddenly overcome by this urge to listen to Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos. You know, one of those urges that you cannot resist. When that bit of music becomes an earworm that you can get out only by actually listening to the piece.

But of course I was in the middle of nowhere so there was no question of reaching out to my favourite Neville Marriner St Martin in the Fields version of the concertos. I had to turn to my friend Mr Youtube instead and look to what he could throw at me. I clicked on the first choice that was offered which did not tell me who was playing it but I didn’t care- I just had to listen to that opening.

Sated. I forgot about Bach, Brandenburg concertos and slept.

The next day found me wandering into a luxurious bookstore cafe with a view to skyscrapers. I’d had my share of stressful moments earlier that morning so I sat drinking a smoothie. Wrong choice. But the smoothie was there and I had to pay for it. And I had time to kill. So I stared at the smoothie. Smoothie looked out the window where a few crazy people were ziplining from one building to another. I was intrigued. But before my thoughts could turn to other things what do I hear but the opening of Brandenburg Concertos washing over me through the bookstore stereos! This was a sign right?

I could totally be the lost intriguing heroine from a novel by Haruki Murakami. Except Murakami would never choose something as plebian and commonplace as the Brandenburg Concertos or Bach. No, he would find a composer or a composition way more obscure. That’s why he’s Murakami.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hong Kong at Night- From Victoria Peak

My Life is so miserable- NOT

I got up from my bed determined that my day was going to be miserable. Everything was going wrong. How could today be any different? Life was heading south. It was 7am and I was in a different city. I pulled the window drapes apart and looked down. Far below me on the open ground two men slept on blankets spread on hollow in a rock. Open to the elements. Open to the cold. And they weren’t camping out in the open for fun.

Suddenly there were no arguments about why my life was miserable.

IMG_20160315_095756
This was where the men slept. They weren’t camping for fun.
13 thoughts on “Random Musings”

    1. That’s right- you just need a small tap and then you wake up and see how good everything is for you!

Leave a Reply

