Weekly Photo Challenge: Time (Part 2) The Grand Canyon

Yesterday I posted a time lapse which covered about an hour’s time of the early morning sky. It was great because I had no idea what the theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge was going to be when I was photographing the morning sky.

However, as I thought more about the theme I felt I had to do one more post. So I thought of what could represent the opposite of what I had posted yesterday (which was just a micro-section of time). And then it struck me- the Grand Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Grand Canyon South Rim

They say that the Grand Canyon never fails to impress- this is absolutely true. No matter how many images you see on the internet before you get there, you are completely awestruck when you walk to the rim and take in the views.

The Grand Canyon offers us a cross-sectional view of layers of rocks starting from nearly billions of years to old to a few tens of million years old. Every horizontal band/ line you see in the photographs represents a geological time that spanned millions of years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lines of Time- South Rim Grand Canyon

Erosion has done an amazing favour of revealing this timescale to us. If you thought about it- it’s not very different from a tree rings. Every line offers you information about what happened on the surface of the earth at that time- fossils, rock formations etc.,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Walking the Trail of Time

They have something called the trail of time when you walk the rim of the South Rim at the Grand Canyon. It has signposts and information boards on what would have happened at different points of time from the earliest points to a few million years ago. This extends from the Grand Canyon Village to the Yavapai Geological museum. What amazed me when reading these boards was just how many times the land had been taken over by the sea. Which is why they discover marine fossils in the Grand Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Time Display on a Grand Scale

Just imagine- beneath us are these hundreds and thousands of layers of rock and sediments deposited at every geological age. At the Grand Canyon you get to view this grand display of time passing.

It is actually a humbling experience when you realise how small human time is when compared to the slow but massive time of the Universe.

You can check out other entries for the weekly Photo Challenge theme here.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    It is indeed humbling. Someday we will visit again!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes definitely!

  2. So humbling indeed! This past year I went to visit Best Friends Animal Sanctuary in Utah and was able to also spend a day at Zion National Park. Also an amazing place and definitely photo worthy! Next time I will also have to go to the Grand Canyon. I went as a child but don’t really remember it (how could I not though?).

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I think as children we are easily distracted and our focus is on other things really! I hope you get to visit soon. I would love to go to Zion National park someday!

  3. Anabel Marsh says:

    I agree that no image prepares you – even looking at it in real life it’s hard to take in what you are seeing. Your pictures are great.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Anabel. It was such a fantastic experience. I hope I get to visit once again.

  4. Nirmala says:

    Truly awe inspiring! Good idea, yours, to capture two ideas of time.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you- it just struck me when I was looking through some of the old photographs.

Leave a Reply

