Planetary Allignment, January Round-up: Life goes on

That’s right folks! We’re already at the end of January. Feels like we just woke up on 1st January doesn’t it? Believe it or not, 11 more cycles of this and we’ll all be wishing each other a Happy New Year once again.

So if you haven’t already done so, it’s time to stop wishing people a Happy New Year. It’s now the hard part when you sit down and achieve/ try to achieve all that you set out to do.

I’ve been doing much better on my resolutions this year than the last. The only area I still haven’t made much progress is my Japanese. I guess February onwards is really the time I will have to get serious if I have any hopes of writing N2 in December.

I’m proud to say I blogged everyday this month- with the exception of the 18th when in addition to travelling I was extremely ill. I guess that counts as a good enough excuse. Thanks to everybody who has visited my blog and left comments. It has been my most successful month on wordpress since I started nearly 7 years ago!

I’ve also been keeping at reading a book a week- I picked small books and maybe that’s cheating a bit and it looks like I won’t finish this week’s book before the day ends today but like I said it’s a much better report card than I had for January 2015.

Last, you ย must have all heard talk about the planetary allignment that one can see in the dawn sky. I had been eyeing the sky for days when I get out to cycle in the mornings- I could see 4 planets (the easy ones)- Jupiter, Saturn, Mars and Venus. Only on Saturday morning did I get the chance to go to my terrace and find Mercury which I did.

It’s a great time to spot Mercury- it’s normally an elusive find because it is quite dim and you could confuse it with any other dim star. But with all the planets alligned in a straight line it just takes a bit of your staring at the sky (let your eyes get used to the darkness- do not stare at any bright objects) before you spot the planet. Here’s a rubbish photo that I took of Venus and Mercury yesterday- to help you spot the planet. And yes that’s a cell phone tower in the foreground to give you an idea of the scale. Good luck!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Venus and Mercury, 30 Jan 2016 from Chennai

I also incidentally tried photographing Saturn (my camera is in no way equipped to do any kind of astrophotography except photograph the moon). I’d like to think that I see the rings of Saturn than to think that I impossibly shook my camera and tripod!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Saturn (zoomed about 300% and cropped- I want to believe I see rings)

Have a great February!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Happy February!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks you too!

  2. neihtn2012 says:

    I see rings in that photo of Saturn!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

  3. Can’t believe we’re at the end of January already! Sounds like you’re off to a great start this year with your resolutions and postings! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so very much for the encouragement!

  4. Apar says:

    I was telling amma …it is February already and come to read this post!! You shook the camera & the tripod?! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah they are the rings on Saturn indeed!! Good luck on keeping up with your resolutions.Japanese, I guess you will take it up and ace it too! All the best!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It was early in the morning and I was sleepy and there was no light- I could have done anything. It’s been a while since I took up Japanese- waiting to ace it ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Nirmala says:

    I think they are good pictures!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      You are very kind!

Leave a Reply

