Mt Fuji Hotel: Uninterrupted Views

I can’t believe it’s almost been a year since I went to Japan. Time flies! I can’t also believe how behind I am in my blogging. Apart from brief photographs and descriptions I haven’t posted much from any of my major trips last year. So I have started setting myself weekly targets on posts in order to reduce the backlog.

I was in Japan for just slightly over a week and in that whirlwind trip I knew that I had to somehow squeeze in a visit to Mt Fuji. A lot of people are content with just chancing a view of Mt Fuji when you are on the shinkansen (bullet train) from Tokyo but that would not do for me. So I had an option of either doing a day trip from Tokyo or actually overnighting at a hotel in the Mt Fuji area. I was fortunate enough to be able to do the latter though finding a good hotel was going to be either expensive business or down to pure luck because the good ones tend to fill up fast.

After much agonising my friend and I decided that we would stay at Hotel Mt Fuji  near Lake Yamanaka.  Mt Fuji is surrounded by a number of lakes and predictably enough there are a number of resort towns with hotels each selling spectacular views of Mt Fuji (which makes the process of settling on a hotel very difficult). Hotels near Lake Kawaguchi tend to be the most popular and you can see why when you see the photographs of Mt Fuji with the beautiful lake and cherry blossom trees in the foreground.

From the internet Hotel Mt Fuji does not look half as warm or quaint as some of the other ryokans (traditional Japanese inns or similarly styled hotels) near Kawaguchiko but a combination of availability and budget constraints meant that we booked it anyway.

I have to say that Hotel Mt Fuji certainly didn’t disappoint in one significantly important aspect- views of Mt Fuji. Every room in the hotel (and yes I mean every room) has a balcony that overlooks the massive volcano. With good weather conditions (and that is the biggest ‘if’ with any visit to Mt Fuji) the views of Mt Fuji are enough to awe you. Mt Fuji at this point is just 16 kms away and you can see every inch of its might from the balcony. A good amount of “stupeur et temblement” being this close to Fujisan is appropriate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lake Yamanaka
Mist over Lake Yamanaka just before sunrise

We opted for a fairly basic room and I have to say this was the largest room I had in all of my trip in Japan. The beds were quite large and comfortable (unfortunately I hardly slept in it as Mt Fuji cleared up at around midnight and after that I could not tear my eyes away from it until I left late next morning). The room has a hot water kettle and a basic minibar.

There is supposed to be a dinner buffet though we arrived late enough to not be able to try it. The breakfast had a decent spread and the one thing I really appreciated was that every item in the breakfast menu had a label detailing ingredients so I could safely choose vegetarian options. BRAVO! I wish more hotels and restaurants in Japan would start doing this. Especially with the influx of tourists that is likely to take place with the 2020 Olympics.

IMG_20150406_044134
View of Mt Fuji from the Breakfast table

If ever I got the chance to go back to the Mt Fuji area I will certainly revisit Hotel Mt Fuji. They also have an onsen (hot spring) in the hotel. I didn’t try it but my friend did and said it was great.

The access to the hotel is not very straightforward- we took a train from Shinjuku to Yamanakako (changing at Otsuki). From Yamanakako we took a taxi (3000-4000 yen one way) though you can take a bus to the city centre and the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle from the closest bus stop to the hotel.

19 Comments Add yours

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      🙂

  1. nivs24 says:

    That pink sky is just brilliant

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks so much!

  2. MomoClicks says:

    Wow….
    I hope to visit soon.
    Please do give me any tips which might be helpful.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Shantanu- are you planning to travel to Japan soon?

      1. I am planning to visit during the Golden week. April 29th-May5. Heard a lot about it. Nothing concrete yet thought. Need to arrange a lot of things.

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Golden week is going to be super crowded because the locals will also be on holidays so make sure you make your ticket and hotel reservations well in advance! Now would be a good time.

      3. Oh ok.. Thanks for the tip. Then I should perhaps change my dates.

      4. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        That would be wise- maybe go earlier? You might be able to catch the last of the cherry blossoms.

  3. Lav says:

    Awe inspiring, up close and personal.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It was all of that and more!

  4. thatssojacob says:

    Looks like you had a good time. Happy new year Su, don’t forget to come to my blog and show me some love!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks for visiting!

  5. Nirmala says:

    Impressive! I admire that you set goals and try to achieve them as best as possible. All the best!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I try- I don’t always succeed but I try!

  6. arv! says:

    surely the room looks quite big…especially when you compare with rooms in Tokyo!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s right- it was certainly luxurious by those standards. It was a great room- pity you could see Mt Fuji out the balcony! 🙂

Leave a Reply

