Art in a Tangle

Pick up a magazine or newspaper these days and chances are there is a feature that talks about how things like colouring and drawing for adults are in vogue these days. I must say that I indulge in doodle art myself though it wasn’t after I read one of these features. I just suddenly realised one day when doodling during a meeting that I really liked drawing close concentric circles or drawing close parallel lines. When I googled to get inspiration for designs I was amazed by the amount of resources that were available online.

I’ve not done many designs but the one below was inspired by my visit to Turkey earlier this year. It features a whirling dervish whirling away- a picture of calm in an ocean of chaos around him.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Whirling Dervish Whirling Away

I’ve never considered myself good at drawing- in fact I have surprised myself with the half decent image I’ve produced above.

My header image is also one of my first attempts. It’s full of arches and close lines and shading all of which are great at helping you focus.

How about you? Have you tried your hands at any of this? If you’re interested this website gives you tons of resources including kinds of patterns and how to draw them.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    This is fantastic! There are details to discover every time you look at it.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Lav!

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    They are so beautiful. I am surprised its a first attempt.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Lata! They are indeed my first attempt- I have done a few more now- will upload soon.

  3. Apar says:

    You are an artist!! πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      LOL- I wouldn’t go as far as that but let’s say doodling does not take as much effort as drawing πŸ™‚

  4. neihtn2012 says:

    That’s an excellent drawing!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so very much!

  5. I love Zentangles…but I’ve discovered that it’s tricky about the copyrights of designs not created by oneself πŸ™‚ Your whirling dervish is awesome πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you- that’s right- I feel that Zentangling has too many rules so I just stick to my own thing- I have a book on designs and it says that as long as it is for personal use the designs can be copied. So I guess it’s ok as long as I’m not commercially selling my doodles which is unlikely to happen anyway!

      1. I found the same thing to be true about Zentangling…so I just stick to what I enjoy doing πŸ™‚

  6. Ramya Ghatti says:

    Wow! It’s fantastic doodling for a first timer, Sukanya! I am really inspired!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Ramya- like I said I surprised myself- of course there is a lot of room for improvement πŸ™‚

  7. lulu says:

    Great image. Isn’t it wonderful how many ways we can create?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Lulu- it is indeed wonderful

  8. Beautiful designs – thanks for always sharing your creativity~!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much for your very kind comments- made my day!

  9. Nirmala says:

    You have an amazing talent. Got to collect these and frame them!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you- I don’t think most of these are ready for framing yet but someday!

Leave a Reply

