Serendipity

Serendipity: luck that takes the form of finding valuable or pleasant things that are not looked for (Merriam Webster Dictionary)

When I traveled to Turkey in June this year, I had 2 days in Istanbul- now that is hardly a decent amount of time to look around a city as magnificent as Istanbul but it was better than never having visited the city. In a visit like this luck and surprises play a big role in your travel experience. For example I captured a photograph of a colourful staircase when I was on a bus that was taking us from Sultanahmet to go on the Bosphorous Cruise. It looked beautiful and a fair bit like the Moraga staircase I had seen in San Francisco many years ago. 

Rainbow Staircase in Istanbul
Rainbow Staircase in Istanbul
163 steps of pure beauty!
163 steps of pure beauty! Moraga Stairs

When I returned home I googled ‘colourful staircase in Istanbul’ to find that the staircase had an interesting history. Apparently the stairs were painted in 2013 by a retired man called Husseyin Cetinel. He wanted to make a project that would bring a smile on people’s faces. The stairs were an instant hit and many locals and tourists flocked to it. The local municipality however decided to repaint them a dull grey during one of the nights. People were quite upset and protested leading to the municipality repainting the stairs in rainbow hue. Fascinating isn’t it?

If that isn’t serendipity I don’t know what is!

Incidentally it was only when I was writing this blog that I found there were two cats on the staircase- can you find them? No? Well I zoomed and cropped the relevant sections.

Cat Zoom 1
Cat Zoom 1
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cat Zoom 2
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice!
    It’s not the destination… it’s the journey! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Absolutely- I agree with that!

  2. Anisa says:

    Love the rainbow stairs!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Anisa

  3. cinzia8 says:

    I was in Istanbul many years ago, but I found it to be mesmerizing. The Blue Mosque was awesome. I still where my Turkish wedding ring purchased there, and I recently wrote a piece about it on my Facebook page-Cynthis Ripley Miller. Love the kitty on the stairs, too.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Cynthia- I checked your facebook page and looked up the post about the wedding ring- fascinating! I didn’t know you were an author. Your book looks like a fascinating read- I’m going to add it to my list of ‘to-read’ books once my Japanese exam is done in early December!

      1. cinzia8 says:

        I thought your pictures were beautiful. Thank you for visiting my author’s Facebook page and for adding my novel as a ‘to read’ book. I love history, adventure, romance and intrigue. I tried to incorporate all these elements into the plot. Also, good luck on your exam. I imagine Japanese is not an easy language to tackle!! Oh, and if you have a chance, drop by my website as well. I have some interesting info about ancient Roman jewelry. cynthiaripleymiller.com

  4. cinzia8 says:

    ‘wear’ Sorry!

  5. Nirmala says:

    Amazing stairs and cats are bonus!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Cats are always a bonus!

Leave a Reply

