Wordy Wednesday: 5 Reasons Why My Blog Will Never Be Freshly Pressed or Become a Blogger Diva

Some of you probably read that title and went “huh?”. Allow me to explain.

Being Freshly Pressed is a big deal on wordpress. A few years ago anybody that landed up on the wordpress.com homepage landed on a selection of blogs across genres chosen by the admin of wordpress for exceptional content- these were the freshly pressed blogs. Being freshly pressed could instantly give you immense visibility and recognition. Thousands of people visit wordpress.com and hence thousands of people would see your blog. I always dreamt of going to bed one night after posting a blog, waking up and finding hundreds of likes and follows because my blog had been freshly pressed. Alas! It never happened. I still kept praying that the wordpress admins would find me.

"Dear WordPress Admin, Please Freshly Press My Blog" says kitty with kissy eyes
“Dear WordPress Admin, Please Freshly Press My Blog” says kitty with kissy eyes

Today the freshly pressed blogs are no longer on the wordpress.com homepage but on a separate freshly pressed page. The helpful wordpress admins also have a helpful guide for what could get you freshly pressed. Although not as instantly accessible, it is still an immense opportunity and recognition to be listed on the Freshly Pressed List. And I still keep hoping that one day I will make it to that list. Although on deeper analysis, the results of which I will share here, I’m more and more inclined to believe that I may never make it to the stratosphere of blogging.

Angry Kitty Says I will Never Be Freshly Pressed
Angry Kitty Says I will Never Be Freshly Pressed

Here are the 5 reasons I think I will never make it to Freshly Pressed or become a blogger diva

My Blog Does Not Have One Over-Arching Theme: My blog is like my life. Confused. People have, on many occasions, given me advice to stick to one domain- to focus and concentrate my energies on one domain rather than scatter my efforts across many. That has hardly worked out for me. My blog is a snapshot of my life- of what I see and experience so it’s pretty much all over the place. I write about a lot of things- from review of Japanese Kanji flash cards to sunrise on the Grand Canyon to participating in photo challenges. At one point a few years ago, I did start 4 sub blogs that focused on travel, photography, ancient history and so on but after about a year pulled them back into my main blog because they were just fragmenting my blogging efforts. I was one person so my interests have to stay on one blog. This means people who follow my blog because they liked a particular post on a particular theme often get confused and disappointed. Someone who likes my posts on Ancient Rome may not be interested in my hotel review posts and so on.

Overwhelmed cat
Overwhelmed cat

I don’t have a regular posting schedule: This is a definite mantra for blogging success. People recommend that you post regularly (whether that’s once a week or everyday). If you don’t post anything on your blog for years together chances are high that people will lose interest. With the exception of the A to Z Blogging Challenge in April when I blog every day of the week except Sundays, my blogging schedule is very irregular. Sometimes I post everyday, sometimes I disappear for months- for no particular reason.

Cat Doesn't Like Irregular Posters
Cat Doesn’t Like Irregular Posters

My visual content is irregularly mediocre They always say that one of the elements of great blogs is the visual content. Images speak a thousand words and stunning images probably ten thousand. Images in your post automatically attract more views and likes. I sometimes post good images but most of the times my images are just borderline. This means that I do not attract as many viewer/ readers as I could.

Blurry Cat want Clearer Photos
Blurry Cat want Clearer Photos

I mostly don’t write coherently: I’m mostly blogging at the end of a long work day just before falling asleep or before I have to get to doing something else. Which means I often skip the proof reading part. Which also means that sometimes people think I can’t write proper English and makes my blog look worse that it should.

Spelling Cat Can't Spell
Spelling Cat Can’t Spell

I don’t always engage with the community This is also a fallout of posting at the end of the day. As much as I would love to visit more blogs and engage more with other bloggers, often enough I have to stop with visiting two or three blogs. This is a pity- not only do I lose out on finding other interesting blogs but it means other people can’t find me either.

Engage with the Community
Engage with the Community

And there you have it- the cats know why my blog won’t be freshly pressed (cats know everything anyway!). Maybe one day I will actually work on all these points and get there! Who knows!

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Freshly pressed = Bah, humbug!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      ha ha! that’s the spirit!

  2. I have been meaning to write about not being ‘Freshly Pressed’ but I think you covered most of it 😉 Hush, I think there’s a mafia at work, but that’s our secret 😀 Oh and those cat photos are adorably appropriate.Loving the captions.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Shailaja, ha ha I think there’s a cartel at work too, but no that’s just my imagination- it’s just that there’s so many blogs it’s a random accident- glad you liked the cats!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      ha ha! Indeed!

  3. I got ‘freshly pressed’ once. Curiously, I fielded more hits from a post that went slightly viral on Reddit…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Wow! Congratulations! I’ve never used Reddit…

      1. It’s not anything you can do yourself – I don’t even have a Reddit account. Somebody put a link up on one of their boards and it took off from there. Dumb luck in many ways, but man did it pull in traffic!

  4. Ada says:

    Thank you for writing it (my english is too bad to write this), I feel the same, with no cat, so no Fresly Pressed dreams. 🙂 It’s so difficult to post after a work day, and no time for real engagement.

    That’s an opportunity to tell you that I love your “confused” blog. Let it go freely !

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Ada! Thanks for your comments and thanks also for your encouragement- (your English is great btw!) I feel it most difficult to find time as well but we must do what we can!

  5. Lee says:

    Now I know! Yep, wondered how to get freshly pressed. Besides, if you are like me, I really don’t care that much. Sure it would be nice, but it is only a “once-in-a-lifetime” deal. I would rather have my blogging friends stopping by who actually care about you and what you are up to. I also agree with Tom; Spellin is overated! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s very true- I would anyday have a few blogging friends rather than hundreds of visitors who just visit once and then disappear.

  6. Anabel Marsh says:

    If your blog does what you want it to do, why worry? It seems good to me! Love the cats too.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much Anabel! I’m quite happy with my blog but just sometimes I think it would be great to be freshly pressed but I’m not hung up over it!

  7. neihtn2012 says:

    Sounds like the story of my blog too, but I say so what?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s right! It doesn’t really matter much but I don’t think it would hurt to get that extra visibility too :)- sometimes! Your blog is wonderful and way much better!

  8. ashokbhatia says:

    Indeed, there are several perks to not being F-Pd, but those merit a separate blog post!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      True, there are so many advantages and disadvantages. Thanks!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      They certainly are!

  9. Nirodaigh says:

    Fun post! I have been wondering what the whole “Freshly Pressed” thing was all about, thx for clearing that up! Wish we could all get at least one shot at it, just for our efforts haha! Good luck to u, maybe the cats bring u extra luck, so cute. 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much! Yes I hope we all get freshly pressed at some point of time. Thanks for visiting

  10. Nirmala says:

    I am sure all that is overrated. Just keep doing what you are doing and enjoy it. This one itself is very good ! Love all the cats doing your work!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Of course I’m not going to stop blogging just because I didn’t get freshly pressed

  11. Hi Sukanya, I liked your post, and loved almost all the posts that I read through. Continue being the same self, I find your blog to be very interesting. Good to connect with you here.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Ashu for visiting my blog and also for your comments! Hope you keep visiting!

  12. Timothy Price says:

    I love “Wordy Wednesday” and cats!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Ha ha! Thank you- I’m a big fan of cats!

Leave a Reply

