The Cats of Cappadocia

You can read the previous post in this series here.

At the hotel where we were staying in Goreme, Cappadocia it first looked like dogs had the run of the place. I’m not against dogs but let’s just say that cats rule my heart so I was very happy to see that cats turned up whenever the dogs weren’t around. And just like the magnificent landscapes of Cappadocia, the cats were also extremely amazing to look at and observe.

The most graceful cat I've ever seen in my life. After executing a lithe leap between two neighbouring buildings (in response to persistent requests for attention from me) she came and settled down just at the spot beyond where my hands could reach her.
The most graceful cat I’ve ever seen in my life. After executing a lithe leap between two neighbouring buildings (in response to persistent requests for attention from me) she came and settled down just at the spot beyond where my hands could reach her.
The Sweetest Cat I've seen- this one came and stood right next to me although it couldn't completely relax because of the dogs. I hope you're well my kitty sweet!
The Sweetest Cat I’ve seen- this one came and stood right next to me and then on my lap although it couldn’t completely relax because of the dogs. I hope you’re well my kitty sweet!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Me and the Cat- Enjoying an intimate moment

Like stray cats everywhere in the world I’m sure most of these cats also had a tough time managing out there in the big bad world. However from what I had seen in Turkey I knew that there were some good samaritans who shared and cared for at least some of these darlings. May they all be blessed (especially the good samaritans!)

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Look at that cat giving kissy eyes!!!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Missing all my Turkish kitties

  2. Nirmala says:

    Indeed I echo your feelings. I hope there will always be someone to look out for them anywhere in the world.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes let’s hope so!

  3. Alex Hurst says:

    Awww, that’s really cool. Reminds me of all the strays around Kyoto. Wonder if you saw any stray cats hanging around temples while you were in Japan. 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      No surprisingly I didn’t spot many cats- I wonder if it was because I was running from one place to another.

      1. Alex Hurst says:

        Probably. They hang out on the quiet streets, haha.

Leave a Reply

