Cherry Blossoms in Japan

Being in Japan in spring during the height of the cherry blossom season was something of a dream come true for me. The rows and rows of pinks and whites that enveloped entire cities made Japan even more a spectacular place than it ordinarily must be. One must feel truly blessed living in a country where everything turns so spectacularly beautiful twice a year- once for spring and the other for autumn. I guess I must add visiting Japan in autumn to my wish list.

It is quite easy to think that all cherry blossoms are the same- however there are apparently close to 600 varieties of Cherry blossoms. As a novice I can hardly say I noticed more than two or three varieties (even though I must have seen more). I’m still not sure I identified them correctly but I thought I’d put up some photographs that show how different they actually are.

So I think this variety is what is called the Hill Cherry or Yamazakura. I photographed this in the garden of the National Museum of Tokyo.

Hill Cherry or Yamazakura
Hill Cherry or Yamazakura

In the same garden I noticed that the blossoms provided a splendid white canopy that was out of a dream. Check this photograph to see what I mean.

Look Up and Say Wow!
Look Up and Say Wow!

Another variety of cherry blossoms are the Somei Yoshino. These were also quite common and I thought were the prettiest because they were just so beautiful appearing in tight clusters.

Clusters of Somei Yoshino
Clusters of Somei Yoshino

You can walk in the tree lined streets in Kyoto and feel that you have been transported to a different era. Easy to believe looking at this photo, don’t you think?

Cherry Tree Lined Kyoto Street
Cherry Tree Lined Kyoto Street

But my favourite cherry blossom themed image is that of Himeji castle peeking out from a storm of cherry blossoms.

Himeji through the blossoms
Himeji through the blossoms

I must write separately about my visit to Himeji on another post. But don’t you agree that the cherry blossoms are just spectacular? Here are some more varieties

Pink multi-layered one: Not sure what the name is
Shot in very bad light
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
If an expert on cherry blossoms passes by this blog, could you help me out? Onegaishimasu!
15 Comments Add yours

  1. mukul chand says:

    great write up and pictures . Different people view the same place or article in different ways.Do check out my blogs and give your comments please: http://www.enchantedforests.wordpress.com and http://www.travelwithmukul.wordpress.com

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  2. Lav says:

    Cherry Blossoms are so ethereal!
    Love that photo of the lined street. It truly takes me back!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes it is amazing!

  3. Lovely photos. The shadows on the petals in that first photo are so pretty.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  4. Such a lovely, delicate sight~! I saw cherry blossoms in the Japanese garden of the Brooklyn Botanic Garden a few months ago in New York, but these views in Tokyo are a real feast!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Wow! We never get to see Cherry Blossoms where we are (it’s just too warm) but we see other beautiful flowers at times

  5. Nirmala says:

    So beautiful

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  6. Celia says:

    What!! You visited Himeji Castle during the cherry blossom season… so jealous! It must have been beautiful, but really crowded??
    And yes, you MUST visit Japan in autumn as well – it is other-worldly! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Celia- yes I was indeed fortunate. Yes it was very crowded- we went fairly early and yet had to queue up for an hour. I hope that I can make it to Japan in autumn!

  7. heimwee2456 says:

    Wow, that’s amazingly beautiful! I write about traveling, too, can we do follow for follow? 🙂
    http://www.asequibles.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

