More UNESCO World Heritage Sites

If you’ve been following the news you will have heard that UNESCO has listed more sites to it’s World Heritage List. The sites are located in countries including Norway, Turkey, Iran, China, France, Mongolia and others.

Readers may remember that earlier in February this year I had written a post about the UNESCO heritage sites I had visited. At that point of time I had visited 41 sites internationally and 11 in India. I’ve had a few very fortunate months during the course of which I have been able to visit 11 more sites around the world. Additionally with UNESCO declaring Singapore’s Botanical Gardens as a World Heritage site I’ve now got 53 sites in the pocket. That’s a total of 53 from 1027 sites totally. Long way to go, won’t you agree?

The additional 11 sites include

Fujisan, sacred place and source of artistic inspiration
Fujisan, sacred place and source of artistic inspiration
The Historic Centre of Istanbul (Hagia Sophia)
The Historic Centre of Istanbul (Hagia Sophia)
7 Comments Add yours

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I read about it! Congratulations to Scotland! I hope I can visit soon- I’ve been to Scotland twice- it’s lovely!

      1. Anabel Marsh says:

        As we say – “Haste ye back”.

  1. Beautiful pics! Hope you get many more fortunate months which add a lot more UNESCO sites to your list. 🙂 Did the two Indian sites which got the heritage status do anything to your count?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much. I hope so too! Were there two Indian sites that were nominated? Didn’t realise but the fact that they nominated Ephesus in Turkey yesterday means that my count went up to 54!

  2. Nirmala says:

    Wish you many more additions to your list!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

