X for Xing

Yeah, if you went huh? Then you’re like me the first time I saw Xing road signs everywhere in the US. I couldn’t figure out what Xing actually meant until I saw a sign with the stickman and a Xing and I figured that it meant ‘Crossing’. Did you go “D’uh?”

Life is full of crossings- chance crossings, pre-determined crossings. In ancient times somebody from one corner of the world couldn’t realistically hope to cross paths with someone from the other corner (except in the rarest of exceptions) but today with travel and the shrinking of the world we’re always crossing one another in the streets.

One of the more spectacular Xings I visited recently was the Shibuya crossing in Tokyo, Japan. There people converge from all different directions and somehow seem to find a way through each other to where they have to go. Here are a few experimental shots from Shibuya crossing.

Long Exposure Photograph at Shibuya Crossing. The cyclist luckily stayed almost still the whole time
Long Exposure Photograph at Shibuya Crossing. The cyclist luckily stayed almost still the whole time
Girl who wanted her photo at the crossing. She got into mine as well
Girl who wanted her photo at the crossing. She got into mine as well
People walking from one side to another
People walking from one side to another
6 Comments Add yours

  1. It took me a while to figure out what ‘Xing’ meant and I had my D’uh moment when I realized what is stood for!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Ha ha! I know right!

  2. Nirmala says:

    Great new idea for X!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      ha ha! I’m glad I thought of it!

  3. Apar says:

    First time I came across X for cross was when I saw someone write down an address as “X street”… Way back when I was in middle school. That was my D’uh moment. 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

