S for Sea Shells on the Sea Shore

Think about it. At some point in our lives we’ve all been obsessed about collecting sea shells. Beaches were treasure troves of shells of myriad shapes and sizes and colours. We collected them and eventually the majority of us forgot about them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Those irresistable shells of many shapes and sizes

They say that you can hear the ocean if you put a shell to your ear. But do you really know what is originally inside a shell? Check this video that I made this last weekend!

That was the first time in my life I saw anything like this. And I didn’t see one but hundreds of shells alive burying themselves rhythmically after every washing wave. Shells of different colours, shapes and sizes. I wondered at some of those huge shells we’ve seen an how strong that invertebrate creature inside would have to be to carry it around.

From peacocks to peacock coloured shells
From peacocks to peacock coloured shells
12 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely musing, S. I remember first hearing (no pun intended) about these shells in a tamil movie called Kadalora Kavithaigal. I was quite riveted! Nice to know people are still cherishing this.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I haven’t heard of the movie but good to know a lot of people know and remember this.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Anabel!

  2. neihtn2012 says:

    Those two videos are amazing. I had never seen sea shells do that. Thank you Sukanya!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I never knew they could do that either. We live and learn!

  3. Love this ‘S’ choice! My husband is a major shell collector (he has many hundreds of amazing shells, most of which I’d never heard of or see before), and I often think about what the life must have been like for those mollusks who lived in all those shells – The videos are fascinating.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you. I used to collect shells but gave up. Your husband must have a very interesting collection!

      1. He certainly does. He has so many fascinating different types – I never dreamed there were so many!

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Wow!

  4. Apar says:

    Never seen shells do that. Yeah used to collect shells. Now A does… Though been ages since we went anywhere near the beach. Pity living in a city with a beach like Marina!! πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I know, sometimes we never do the things that are right on our doorstep! Make some time next weekend πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

