P for Portals of Pondichery

portal1
ˈpɔːt(ə)l/
noun
  1. a doorway, gate, or other entrance, especially a large and imposing one.

The historic French quarter of Pondichery (South India) is quite popular among tourists. And with good reason- the mix of old and new buildings showcase a melange of colonial and local architecture. During my most recent visit to the city, I went around walking through the streets photographing the colourful doors and gates to these buildings. Some of these doors are recent fashioned in the old style. Whereas others are truly old. Do you have any favourites?

21 Comments Add yours

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  1. Steph says:

    Wow! All those doors are gorgeous!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Steph! I’m glad you liked them.

  2. Love Pondy, spent 2 of the best years of my life there…..

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I’ve only recently started appreciating how nice Pondy is!

  3. What a lovely collection of doors!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Shailaja!

  4. kimlhine says:

    I love the bougainvillea and arches

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I have a soft corner for that one too!

  5. nivs24 says:

    My fave in Pondy is Patricia’s guest house. A quaint and cozy guest hotel. Do check it out.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That place looks lovely- will check it out the next time I’m there.

  6. Anabel Marsh says:

    I like “old and rickety” and the one with the bougainvillea. But they all have something!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      They do don’t they?

  7. Nirmala says:

    Each is special in a way! I cant choose!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      neither can I!

  8. sundarivenkat says:

    Beautiful! Pondicherry is top on my list of must-visit places 🙂
    My A-Z posts: http://sundarivenkatraman.blogspot.in

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks for visiting Sundari!

Leave a Reply

