K for Kayaking

I kayaked for the first time in my life just over three years ago. I took a kayak into the backwaters of Kerala near Thattekad. I fell in love with it- floating over the water noiselessly and watching cormorants fly over my head was something I’d never experienced before. I wanted to keep on going- the kayak felt like an extended part of me.

Colourful Kayaks
Colourful Kayaks
Kayaking in the Backwaters
Kayaking in the Backwaters

I can’t kayak where I live so I try and kayak every time there’s the least opportunity.

Kayaking from Hiroshima to Miyajima under the Tori gates of Itsukushima Shrine
Kayaking from Hiroshima to Miyajima under the Tori gates of Itsukushima Shrine
13 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Very serene pictures!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It is a serene experience!

  2. lovetotrav says:

    I am so interested in seeing Kerala and the idea of kayaking on the backwaters sounds fascinating. I want to do this. Happy travels and blogging, Cheryl

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Cheryl, Kerala is an amazing place and you can even opt for 2-3 day kayaking tours on the backwaters. If you want to just relax go on a houseboat- you can rent them for overnight or a couple of days https://sukanyaramanujan.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/daytrip-ideas-from-kochi-kerala-houseboat-in-the-backwaters/

      1. lovetotrav says:

        Thanks so much. I will maybe do both!!

  3. LaShaunda says:

    Lovely pictures. Never been Kayaking. Went canoeing once it was a fun scary adventure.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Kayaking is great- of course a lot depends on the kind of kayaking but personally I feel great when I kayak

  4. Sabina says:

    Love that first photo!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Sabina!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks very much!

  5. Nirmala says:

    Must be very calming I guess.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It was so perfectly calm!

Leave a Reply

