B for Birds, Birds, Birds

I never really noticed birds until I moved to live in the city and then it was the yearning to see the birds I would take for granted in my old house- the bulbuls, the kingfishers, the coucals and others. I relearnt to observe them and enjoy them over the course of the years. I’m nowhere close to being an avid birder but at least I know that often I have to stop, stare and observe- you never know who is hiding in the nearest tree.

So how is the A to Z Challenge going for you? Looking forward to more?

B for Birds
B for Birds
45 Comments Add yours

  1. SAN_jeet says:

    beautiful birds

    captured by camera but yet free

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Indeed- free as a bird is a good way to describe them 🙂

  2. Great post. Great photos.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Victor!

  3. Lav says:

    So gorgeous! Feast for the eyes and ears!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      They are a beautiful bunch 🙂

  4. neihtn2012 says:

    B if for birds all right!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes! I loved your post on Egrets!

  5. Lata Sunil says:

    Beautiful compilation. Surely looking for more.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Lata! Hope you’ve been enjoying my posts.

  6. I used to love to watch the birds in the garden – unfortunately we now have two Savannah cats and there is only one bird mental enough to come into our garden, so I have to watch the birds in my parents’ garden instead :). They have a lovely little wren that comes by some times.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Tasha, unfortunately as adorable as cats are, they do pose a big threat to these birds. I’m glad you still get to see birds elsewhere.

  7. lrod1726 says:

    Awesome photos! 😃

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  8. Solveig says:

    Those are awesome photos of birds. At the moment I enjoy their songs each time I take a walk in the park.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That is so lovely!

  9. Reblogged this on Santa's Reindeer and commented:
    Lovely images….

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Santosh!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  10. The challenge is going well 🙂 Great gallery of bird photos! It does make you think of people in the city, though, feeding pigeons… interacting with the only birds they can, for want of seeing more birds!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That is true. I live in the city myself and most often I only see crows.

  11. Sabina says:

    Interesting how we always miss what we don’t have, huh? Great shots!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Sabina!

  12. Jeff Bushman says:

    I love to feed and watch the birds. I have a wren who nests under my deck every year and she sings to me (well at least I think so).

    Bushman
    2015 A to Z Challenge Ambassador
    @jwb81074

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Of course she sings to you. I’m sure she is grateful for the shelter she gets 🙂

  13. Anabel Marsh says:

    The owl has such a lovely face!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      The owl was so expressive and kept changing expressions every minute. Have a look at this https://sukanyaramanujan.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/meet-the-mascot-of-kanha/

      1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        🙂

  14. Lee says:

    Great photos. Love that hornbill.

  15. I love your photographs!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you Cathy!

  16. Alex Hurst says:

    Those are some amazing birds! Did you snap them all in the wild?! How cool!

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Alex, Yes- all birds were photographed in the wild- none of them from cages.

      1. Alex Hurst says:

        That’s fantastic. What a cool experience!

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Thanks 🙂

  17. njmagas says:

    Those are some very beautiful birds! There are a lot of interesting species around here too. Mostly herons, egrets and kites, but we also get kingfishers and cormorants, among others.

    https://out0fprint.wordpress.com/

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s very interesting. I love kingfishers- they are so radiant.

  18. Nirmala says:

    A wonderful collection of photos! Lovely birds!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you 🙂

  19. Love your narrative here – As an avid birder and bird photographer now, I recall very well when I began to “notice” birds, only a few short years ago. I had to go back and look for your B, which I’m so happy to see stands for BIRDS – what else, after all ;-D?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      The only other contender was B for Books but I tweaked something for them to feature later in the challenge. Birds rock!

  20. Beautiful photos for the letter B. Thank you for sharing your photos.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much Judy!

Leave a Reply

