A for Ancient Rome, the Challenge begins!

And so it begins. This is the second time I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge and I hope that I will be able to complete the challenge like the last time.

Pantheon at Rome
Pantheon at Rome

So for my first post, I’d like to write about one of my big interests in life- Ancient Rome. Rome influenced a lot of our modern civilisation- language, culture, customs, science, engineering, art, entertainment- you name it!

Colosseum Flavian Amphitheatre
Colosseum Flavian Amphitheatre

Almost everybody recognizes a few things about Rome- this is because of how pervasive Rome is in all things today.

Monochrome Mosaic
Monochrome Mosaic

I would love to spend more time reading about and travelling to Ancient Roman sites.

Prima Porta Statue of Augustus
Prima Porta Statue of Augustus

So that’s the start of the A to Z Challenge- are you looking forward to more?

A for Ancient Rome
A for Ancient Rome
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Ancient Rome was pretty cool..Modern day Rome isn’t too terrible either 🙂 quite one of my favourite cities to visit. why not include Ancient Athens too, just wondering..

    Best wishes for a great A-Z,
    Nilanjana.
    Madly-in-Verse

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Well my particular interest is in Ancient Rome. They were very inspired by Ancient Greece of course. Thanks very much for your wishes.

  2. mindfulaide says:

    Great post! I loved visiting Rome back in high school. The buildings and statues were so beautiful. Did you know the Colosseum still smells like burned wax in some areas? Tres creepy and cool (creepy because the candles were made from people dipped in wax)! I look forward to the next post.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Whoa I didn’t know that about the Colosseum. I must look into this now. Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’re finding it interesting.

  3. Nirmala says:

    I know how much you like this. May your wish to travel to those places be fulfilled! Goodluck to complete this challenge.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much!

  4. Alex Hurst says:

    So many gorgeous photos! How fun and exciting. 🙂 I would like to visit Rome, too, but I’ve heard it’s gotten so touristy that some of the charm has disappeared (something that is sort of starting to happen to Japan, too).

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    Out of Print, Fiction authors and their shorts

    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Alex, that is true- there are a lot of tourists out there but you can still enjoy the place. I just got back from Japan- loads of tourists but still wonderful.

  5. Lata Sunil says:

    Sukanya, i didnt get your feed on FB like i normally do. Strange.

    Glad to see you on the A2Z. Beautiful picts. History being my favourite subject, I love all things ancient.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Lata, thanks for your reply and also for the reblogs- I unfortunately did not have any PC access these last 7 days (thank God I planned my posts in advance) so that’s why they didn’t come up in my blog page. Thanks also for the retweets 🙂

Leave a Reply

