5 DAY BLACK AND WHITE PHOTO CHALLENGE #5 Startled Bull from Burma

Startled
Startled

This was actually one of the first photographs I took with my Olympus EM-5 when it first arrived nearly a year and a half ago. The photograph is a close-up shot of a carved bull which looks startled because (and you don’t see this in this picture) there is a monkey or a monkey like person or a turtle ( I know right? but I really can’t figure it out) on its back. I wonder if there are any folktales in Burma about a Bull and a turtle/ monkey/ person?

This wood carving was actually brought by my maternal grandfather when he went to Burma (now Myanmar) in the early part of the 20th Century. So it’s probably getting close to being about 100 years old (and hence the bit of damage you see near the ear).  I hope to go to Burma/ Myanmar someday very soon- who knows I might be able to see something similar there?

I’m taking part in the 5 Day Black and White Photo Challenge. There are two rules to the challenge

1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.
2. Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

I was nominated to this challenge by Lee’s Birdwatching Adventures Plus and my thanks for this.

I’m happy to nominate Nivs24 for this challenge. Nivs24 uploads photography and other interesting observation on their blog. I look forward to seeing contributions for the Black & White Challenge.

Today is the last day of the challenge. More of regular blogging from tomorrow!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Good one! I hope someone tells us the folk tale behind it

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I hope so too!

  2. Lee says:

    Neat photo and you made the 5-day challenge. Way to go!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  3. Nirmala says:

    I thought it was a boy on bull’s back!

Leave a Reply

