Venus and Mars in Conjunction, Feb 21 2015

Nearly 20 years ago I was convinced I wanted to become an astronomer. I would spend every evening on the terrace with my telescope looking at the skies. I am probably now (professionally) placed at the opposite end of the spectrum- however once in a while I remember that the skies still continue to fascinate me.

Yesterday when driving back home I noticed the thin sliver of a crescent moon with a bright planet in the night sky. Being very low in the horizon I had problems photographing what I saw. However I did some research and discovered that the planet Venus (the bright object I saw in the sky) was in conjunction with Mars (conjunction- placed quite close together) and not very far away from the thin crescent moon.

Not wanting to miss this opportunity I spent quite a lot of time on our terrace and captured these shots. Enjoy! And if the sun hasn’t set on the 21st of February you can still catch this phenomenon. The next conjunction of Mars and Venus is scheduled for 2017.

Sunset- A Thin Crescent Moon. Venus at the left bottom
Sunset- A Thin Crescent Moon. Venus at the left bottom
Another shot of the moon and Venus- Mars isn't visible in the bright skies yet
Another shot of the moon and Venus- Mars is faintly visible diagonally above Venus
The Trio After Dark
The Trio After Dark
Venus and Mars- Love and War
Venus and Mars- Love and War
A lovely Moon
A lovely Moon
Light Trail Left by Airplane- Image out of Focus
Light Trail Left by Airplane- Image out of Focus
28 Comments Add yours

  1. Hello Sukanya,

    I could perfectly relate to what you said here πŸ™‚

    I was so passionate about astronomy that I used to spend countless hours stargazing on top of our terrace.

    But I never had a telescope and it’s still in my wish list.

    This evening I was in my uncles farm and just happened to check the stargazing app. in my mobile and I could find the conjunction of Mars and Venus, frankly I couldn’t believe it and I was sure, it’s a something rare.

    I called up our astronomy club and went straight to the observatory right on top of a small hill, they have a telescope there and what a treat it was !!!

    Now my daughter is interested in all these wonderful heavenly bodies and and I really wanted to buy a telescope soon πŸ™‚

    Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful images, I know hard it’s to get images of planets ….

    Have a nice weekend πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Sreejith, there must be more of us out there? Btw where do you live? Astronomy club and observatory on top of a hill just sounds idyllic. Unfortunately I live smack in the middle of the city- the amount of light pollution is just incredible!

      1. I live in Kerala πŸ™‚

        To be precise, in Kannur district, north Kerala πŸ™‚

        We have an astronomy club formed with quite a lot of hard work by a very dedicated school teacher called Gangadharan Master.

        You can check out their web page here, http://astropayyanur.org/

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Wow! That is great- are visitors allowed? Is Kannur close to Bekal?

      3. Yes Sukanya, they used to conduct classes fro school children and public frequently.

        This place is around 40 km from Bekal and 110 km from Mangalore πŸ™‚

      4. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Great!

  2. That answers what we were seeing in the night sky last night. Beautiful sky and so are your photos!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you got the chance to see the sky- do you like star gazing?

      1. Rarely do it but enjoy it when we do, as when we went to the McDonald Observatory.

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        That’s fantastic!

  3. neihtn2012 says:

    Fascinating photos, and I hope Sreejith will have some to post also.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Hien! It was great to observe it and I’m glad it was over the weekend!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much!

  4. Apar says:

    Saw the sky on 21st. Admired the moon & the planets. Didn’t have a camera at hand. Taking photos using my phone is bad when it comes to night sky. I did enjoy just admiring the night sky on my drive back to Chennai πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes Aparna, what was important was that you saw it. Even my photos don’t capture the event in its beauty!

  5. Is it really possible to capture this? Amazing Shots!

  6. Lav says:

    That lapsed time photo is simply awesome! It is incredible seeing far and further objects within a scope of your lens.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Isn’t it? I must really get the other zoom lens- think I would have gotten an even more zoomed in shot- the next time!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Wow! Love it! I once got a fairly decent photo of the moon (no planets around it though) https://sukanyaramanujan.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/just-before-full-moon/

  7. nivs24 says:

    And oh, I love the caption of love and war.

  8. Nirmala says:

    Wonderful photos!

  9. Nirmala says:

    The sky has been captivating Since Andal, the
    vaishnavite saint’s time. She mentions in one of her poems rise of venus and setting of Jupiter. This conjunction of planets even help timing!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s a really interesting point!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so very much!

Leave a Reply

