The April A to Z Blogging Challenge Approacheth!

Last year I stumbled upon the April A to Z blogging challenge by accident and quite at the last minute. I think it was the 29th of March that I came across this challenge where you needed to post alphabetically on your blog everyday (nearly). I had never tried it before and it seemed that like the kind of revival my blog needed at that point. 30 days later I think the person most surprised at the fact that I completed the challenge was me.

A2Z Blogging Challenge Badge
A2Z Blogging Challenge Badge

Before the A to Z Challenge last year I had never ever tried to post on my blog on a continuous basis. I would post for a couple of days every week at the maximum. So it was quite a struggle at times trying to come up with ideas for blog posts. And yet it was in a way very exciting to actually  make a project plan about the different posts and sticking to the plan as much as possible. In some ways the A to Z challenge taught me the value of being disciplined about posting. Almost as a dry run to last year’s challenge I’ve been posting almost every day on my blog recently.

The Posting Schedule
The Posting Schedule

If you’ve been reading all along and wondering what the A to Z challenge is all about, you need to head here. Essentially you post everyday on April except on Sundays. You start with a post that starts with the letter ‘A’ and then end with ‘Z’. Themes are great (and you can have a special post on March 23rd to reveal your theme- I’m doing it this year)

But the important thing about the challenge is also the collegiate spirit. You are supposed to visit the blogs of other A to Z participants and leave constructive feedback. And you do kinda have a semi formal admin team that make sure you do what you are supposed to be doing. I made great friends in the blogging challenge last year and I still regularly visit a lot of those blogs.

Go for it!
Go for it!

When the blogging challenge ended last year I was exhausted. So exhausted that I didn’t even bother claiming my survivor badge until weeks after. This was because I’d never been on such an intense blogging schedule. This year I’m more prepared mentally (though I still haven’t scheduled my posts- still a month left- I am a last minute worker) and I even have my theme. I’m raring to go- bring it on!

If this post has sparked your interest- go and sign up your blog in the list.

You can read some of my A to Z posts from last year here. 

The A to Z Challenge also organise twitter chats where you can talk about the challenge, ask questions etc., Follow @AprilA2Z and use  #AZchat. The first chat takes place today (19 Feb) at 1pm US EST.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. jazzfeathers says:

    I stumbled upon the challange last year when it was just over and I waited the entire year for April to come again.
    You’d think I’m more than prepared. I wish!!!!!!

    It isn’t the first time I post everyday for a period. I did a 30 days challenge during last NaNo and I enjoyed it a lot, but I didn’t have to stick to the A to Z ‘limit’. This sounds more demanding.

    I do have a theme, I have already started researching it… but I feel like I’m far bahind. Feels like there is so much to do and so little time to do it. Still I want to try and I’m posting on the 23th… let’s see 🙂

    Good luck with your challenge!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      hey, it sounds to me like you are much better prepared than me! I think the key is to not stress too much and take it as you go. All the best with your challenge!

  2. Nirmala says:

    Good Luck to you!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Zanks!

  3. Lav says:

    That is intense. Tenth day in, I would forget what letter I am on. Hehe.
    Good luck, and great writing!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That’s why they have the calendar there so you can look it up and remember what alphabet you have to write.

  4. Apar says:

    Good luck! I could never think of taking this up though I wish I could. Will definitely read your posts! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Apar!

  5. Alex Hurst says:

    Looking forward to seeing you at the challenge! This weekend I think I’ll get my posts scheduled up to letter J (ambitious… but I have all day tomorrow, right? Hahah…)

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    Out of Print, Fiction authors and their shorts

    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Up to J? Oh my! I’m getting stressed out now and I’m travelling the first seven days of the challenge! yikes!

      1. Alex Hurst says:

        Its not a big deal. ☺ pick a theme thats doable for you. Last year i was wtiting essays, which was bad for two reasons. One, they took forever to prepare, and two, no one had time to read them!

        So, this year I’m doing a photography theme, with 100-200 words attached. Nothing overwhelming. 🙂

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        You are right about people not having the time to read lots. Sprinkling photographs helps very much 🙂 Well I got around to at least deciding what I would write for most alphabets at least. That’s a start.

      3. Alex Hurst says:

        You’ll get through! I managed to get from E to K tonight! It’s fun. ^_^ Or at least it should be. Don’t let it become stressful or you’ll get serious burnout. (Half the blogs I followed stopped updating altogether after last year, haha)

      4. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        I did suffer minor burnout last year- don’t think I uploaded a single post in May- lol but yes you make a valid point. I will keep my posts simple and straightforward. No thesis/ essays!

  6. I plan to participate this year and with a theme. It would be my third effort. Have begun planning early so hopefully there should be less stress but X, Z always a challenge.Good luck and see you around! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi Archana, good to meet you. Third effort? Wow! This is my second year. I have a kinda sorta plan but haven’t started writing my posts yet- soon! Good luck and definitely see you!

Leave a Reply

