Deconstructing something beautiful Part -1 (And can someone name this flower?)

Beautiful Bouquet
Beautiful Bouquet

I landed on this beautiful bouquet today. Something about the arrangement and the hues of the flowers in shades of pink and beige just took my breath away. I had always only photographed flowers on plants but this was the first time that I felt that I had to photograph a flower arrangement.

What is this beautiful flower?
What is this beautiful flower?

One of the starts of the bouquet was this pretty flower. It wasn’t pretty in the traditional way of the rose but more in the way of something natural- like a rough cut diamond.

Sun sets on the mystery flower
Sun sets on the mystery flower

Neither me nor anybody who looked at this flower could however name it. I wonder if anybody reading this blog would be able to tell me what this flower is called. Otherwise it would have to remain the mystery flower.

Full Length View
Full Length View

The flower’s stalk looks something like this- more like that of a Β lotus or some kind of water based plant.

One last view
One last view
19 Comments Add yours

  1. oh wow, reminds me a floral co-star in pink floyd’s the wall – the film!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I am not very knowledgeable about Pink Floyd πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by

      1. alright, without the pop culture reference then πŸ™‚ the flower, in isolation from the environment around it, seems to exist purely for the sake of itself…lovely! and the name – torch ginger (which i found by scrolling below) is just perfect.

  2. Macro photography makes every little seem so beautiful πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes, it adds a whole new dimension to things. Do you do any macro photography? What is your favourite?

      1. I do mostly towers and insects πŸ™‚

  3. V del Casal says:

    I think it’s a peony…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Apparently it’s called a torch ginger- an amazing name for an amazing flower and apparently it’s even edible.

      1. Heyjude says:

        Yours is a pink torch ginger – whereas mine is the red one. Both delightful plants πŸ™‚

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        I hadn’t even heard about torch gingers until 2 days ago so it’s a wonderful discovery πŸ™‚ And I agree they are delightful!

  4. Lav says:

    The stalk looks like birds of paradise, the flower looks like a peony.
    It is beautiful.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It is beautiful isn’t it? So striking!

  5. This is a variety of pink ginger flowers. I think it is called torch ginger. Do Google and see if I’m right…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      You were right- it is indeed the torch ginger! thank you so much!

  6. latasun says:

    i thought that’s Dahlia

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi, I believe it’s called the torch ginger. thanks for stopping by!

  7. Nirmala says:

    Interesting find! New to me too. Good to learn something.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      We learn something new everyday!

Leave a Reply

