Fall Colours in the Land of Perennial Summer

I live in a part of the world where we only dream of four seasons- in reality we have the summer, an extremely short monsoon and then a cool summer. So I’ve always dreamt of being somewhere where I could see fall colours.

However, there is one tree where I live that goes a small way to fulfilling my dream. Every year round about now the Terminalia Catappa aka the badam tree aka the Indian almond has it’s leaves turning a rich shade of red and pink just before the fall to the ground- just like fall! I could almost believe I was somewhere where winter is just around the corner except it is a long summer that stares us in the face.

Red and Pink and Orange- Fall is Here
Red and Pink and Orange- Fall is Here
Falling to the Ground
Falling to the Ground
16 thoughts on “Fall Colours in the Land of Perennial Summer”

    1. Thank you- one of these days I would like to experience a proper autumn. Do you live somewhere where you can experience autumn colours?

  1. I love fall! We have that tree at home here & it indeed reminds me of fall I used to enjoy when I was in NY. ( including the raking of the leaves 🙂 )

      1. You must. I hear New Hampshire is beautiful that time of the year… Wanted to go but never did. Someday…. May be ….or may be not. Will make do with looking at pics from travellers like you 🙂

  2. Dear Sukanya, I was searching for the leaves on line and came across your posting. Is there any way you can gather the red fallen Terminalia Catappa leaves for me ? I will pay you a small sum and the shipping cost to ship to me. Please kindly contact me for information. Regards, Norman

    1. Hi Norman, I’m happy to help (you don’t have to pay) but do you need the dried terminalia leaves or would green/ fresh ones do? The trees here have all sprouted fresh leaves so getting the orange/ red ones may be hard.

      1. If you don’t want me to pay than I think it is not right for me to get the leaves from you. Maybe I did not made myself clear : I am not asking for one or ten leaves. When the tree sheds and the leaves turn solid red and fallen, I want to have as much as possible if not all of them. I know how it feel bending down to pick them up one by one.

      2. I’m afraid all these leaves have been cleared now- the trees all have green leaves and the shedded leaves have been cleared away. Sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

