Hotel Review: The Taj Palace, New Delhi

The Taj Group released a calendar for the year 2014- the various months featuring pictures of the group hotels and also dancers- the message- like a good dance production, hospitality in a hotel was also the result of intense choreography and planning. Surely the Taj Palace New Delhi comes close to demonstrating this. The Taj Palace hotel is one of the group’s premium hotels located very close to the diplomatic enclave in Delhi. It is not too far away from the airport- which is also one of the hotel’s biggest advantages.
I’ve now had three separate stays at the Taj Palace New Delhi over the last 6 months. The first two times I was at the hotel, I was greeted on arrival from the airport by at least 5 people shaking my hand and welcoming me by my name- talk about feeling like a celebrity- the only thing that was missing were the cameras. The third time I felt abandoned- I just had to climb out of my car and walk into the hotel by myself- boohoo! ( Spoilt? But I thought the hotel aimed to pamper). I was all ready to feel abandoned and complain about the hotel but a very nice lady at the check-in desk (Praveen) turned things around for me. When I met her again when I was checking out the next morning, she told me she had stayed behind just to help me check out (nice try! but I didn’t say I wasn’t flattered)

View of the Club Room
View of the Club Room
Club Room- From the Bathroom
Club Room- From the Bathroom

I was put in a club room the two times I was in the hotel for less than 12 hours and in a deluxe room the one time I had a longer stay. All rooms were comfortable (the deluxe room slightly smaller with the bathroom feeling slightly cramped). You don’t really have to worry about cleanliness and safety at any of the Taj properties and the Palace is no exception. On my longer stay I was even offered a DIY facepack by the hotel which I thought was a wonderful touch!

The DIY facepack
The DIY facepack
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room

I’ve only eaten at the Kafe Fontana and ordered in-room dining so I can’t comment about the other restaurants. But the quality of the food is great in general- the breakfast buffet has more items than anyone can eat (and this is even if you are looking at only the choices for veggies). Of course there are people checking on you regularly at breakfast to make sure you’re doing ok.
Staff at the hotel are quite helpful and literally bend over backwards to help you out and make you feel at home.
The Taj hospitality however comes with a fairly hefty prize tag that may not be within the reach of budget travellers (and if you really wanted to splurge on a great Taj hotel- you should choose one of the holiday hotels like the ones in Maldives, Langkawi etc- not Delhi). But if you were travelling for work to Delhi, this hotel is a great choice!
ps- The hotel even has an ATM hidden away in its premises which I think is just amazing!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Love that!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      🙂

  2. Moritz says:

    The Club Room looks stunning! It’s really interesting that the Taj hotels in India (and Asia in general) are so much superior to the ones in the USA. I’ve stayed at the Taj San Francisco and it was really disappointing. The Taj Palace looks way better in comparism!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      That is an interesting point you make- it is generally true that for the same amount of money you normally get a much better service and quality of rooms in South and South East Asia. However I didn’t think there was a difference within the Taj group- I guess it depends on whoever runs the hotel locally.

      1. Moritz says:

        It’s unquestionably true that most Asian hotels are better than their European / American counterparts, but it’s really interesting that you feel like there is an exception with Taj. I’ll have the chance to try the Taj in Boston in March, so maybe I’ll see “real” Taj standard there 🙂

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        That would be interesting- I’ve never been to an Indian brand hotel such as the Taj or the Oberoi outside Asia so wouldn’t know.

  3. Nirmala says:

    Nice you could stay there

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes small pleasures 🙂

    2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes I guess so, I’m sure it won’t be the last time either 😐

Leave a Reply

