The 2014 Book Mosaic

The one resolution that I remember having made last year for myself was to read 52 books over the year. Imagine my dismay then when around the 2nd week of December I realised I was still in the paltry mid-20s. Over the next few days I began reading books like I was possessed. There is a game my mum and I play on our ipod- it’s called bejewelled lightning where you match and obliterate gems within one minute. At the end of the minute, the game takes pity on your low score and gives what it calls a ‘last hurrah’- the game automatically matches all available gems on the board and gives you a bonus. I can only describe the way I read books over the last two weeks as a ‘last hurrah’. I finished the year at a respectable 36 books.  If this were an appraisal I would say I achieved 70% of my objective. Now that’s being too objective isn’t it? Anyway without much further ado here’s the 2014 book mosaic! *trumpets*

The 2014 Book Mosaic. Hurrah!
The 2014 Book Mosaic. Hurrah!

Somehow I managed to read 5 books by Murakami- including his latest book- Colourless Tskuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. I also managed to read 6 books in French.

My target for next year is to actually read 52 books and to read at least one full book in Japanese.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Nice! I kinda stopped keeping track after June, so no idea where I am at.
    Happy hours of reading in 2015

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I did too. I spent quite a bit of time tracking down everything I read.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much!

  2. Apar says:

    I think I did the 12 I set as my paltry target 🙂 Will aim higher with you as inspiration!! Happy reading!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      If I can inspire I am happy but you shouldn’t beat yourself up about 12- 12 is a good number- one book a month!

  3. Nice! Happy Reading in 2015

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Jyothin, Happy New Year to you!

  4. Happy reading. Are you a JLPT person ?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Meaning am I going to attempt the JLPT? Yes . Do I like the exams- not sure 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

  5. Nirmala says:

    Wishing you all the best for the new year! More books!!

Leave a Reply

