Lunar Terminator

I have recently been obsessed with photographing the moon but perverse as nature sometimes can be, I have been continuously denied of opportunities with a clear sky and a visible moon. Yesterday was an exception however- a clear dark blue sky with a perfect waxing moon

With a moon like this who needs another subject?
With a moon like this who needs another subject?

(You can click to see a slightly bigger version)

What I first noticed when I zoomed the photo was something I hadn’t realised before- that the features of the moon are in sharpest relief right at the edge of light and dark. I did a bit of research and found that this line is apparently called the terminator line and it is the point where one could at that point observe a sunset or sunrise along the moon and because of the angle of sun’s rays you see the features in sharp relief (you can also check this in my earlier moon photo here)

This also reminded me of the time when I used to potter around the terrace with a telescope trying to read the surface of the moon with a moon map (now mostly I remember the features of the moon through Enya’s beautiful song Afer Ventus).

In this photograph you can clearly see Mare Crisium (Sea of Crises), Mare Serenitatis (Sea of Serenity), Mare Tranquilitatis (Sea of Tranquility), the crater Copernicus amongst other things. (You can consult a brief moon map here).

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    What a phenomenal picture!!!! Very cool job!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Great pic Andreas! I had a Nikon P100 too- those cameras are great!

  2. Nirmala says:

    Wonderful photo!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you

  3. neihtn2012 says:

    Beautiful shot! I will have to try the same, one of these days.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you and please do!

Leave a Reply

