Quotes from One of My Favourite Books

I read the Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien when I was about 18 and it had a profound impression on my life. It also made me turn to books and reading. Here I gather a few quotes that I love from the book along with a few of my photographs.

“It is not our part to master all the tides of the world, but to do what is in us for the succour of those years wherein we are set, uprooting the evil in the fields that we know, so that those who live after may have clean earth to till. What weather they shall have is not ours to rule”

Trees and Sunset
Trees and Sunset

“It’s the job that’s never started as takes longest to finish”

Fishing in the Sunrise
Fishing in the Sunrise

“Yet such is oft the course of deeds that move the wheels of the world: small hands do them because they must, while the eyes of the great are elsewhere”

Small Hands
Small Hands

“All that is gold does not glitter, Not all those who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost.”

Ruins and Trees
Ruins and Trees

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given
All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given
7 thoughts on “Quotes from One of My Favourite Books”

  1. Beautiful photos and quotes. One of the reasons, for me, that movies will never replace books.
    In my room I have a small pillow embroidered with ‘Not all who wander are lost’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

