Fauna: 10 Wildlife Images from Across India

Disclaimer: No photographs of tigers, panthers or lions- because no matter which national park I seem to travel to, these animals always elude me (of course I haven’t travelled to Gir so can’t complain about lions but you get the drift).

1. White throated Kingfisher on the shores of Covelong Beach, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

White Throated Kingfisher
White Throated Kingfisher

It’s not everyday you come across such contrasts. I was thrilled- needless to say I was literally crawling on the beach to get this shot. Sometimes the best opportunities are right outside your doorstep- this was just about 30kms from my place.

2. Spotted Deer, Kanha National Park, Madhya Pradesh

Perfectly Camouflaged
Perfectly Camouflaged

Spotted deer are not a rarity- you see them almost everywhere in national parks- even outside them. However to see one walking through grass lit up by a golden sun is quite a treat.

3. Indian Gaur, Bandipur National Park, Karnataka

Gaur Blur
Gaur Blur

It was drizzling and our safari jeep startled this gaur. I was lucky to have captured this shot. Gaurs are very dignified beings. Not easily provoked but once angry quite dangerous.

4. Indian Elephant, Kabini National Park, Karnataka

Black and White- Elephant
Black and White- Elephant

One of the most memorable wildlife encounters was watching a herd of elephants swim across a lake at Kabini. I only captured the videos from a distance but of course elephants are mesmerising!

5. Monitor Lizard, Bandipur National Park, Karnataka

Monitor Lizard crawling up a tree
Monitor Lizard crawling up a tree

I’d never seen a monitor lizard up close until then- to see climbing a tree was pure bliss.

6. Adult & Baby Langur at Kanha National Park, Madhya Pradesh

Family Portrait
Family Portrait

Could there be a better family portrait?

7. Blurry Butterfly

Blurry Butterfly
Blurry Butterfly

I can’t remember where this was photographed but I love this composition where the flowers are in focus and the butterfly is blurred.

8. Brown Headed Gull, Pangong Lake, Kashmir

Sail Away Sail Away Sail Away
Sail Away Sail Away Sail Away

Visiting Ladakh was definitely one of the best trips I have ever made in my life.

9.  Himalayan Marmot, Ladakh, Kashmir

Will pose for Treats- Motto of the Himalayan Marmot
Will pose for Treats- Motto of the Himalayan Marmot

Unfortunately these marmots are so used to tourists, they expect to be fed biscuits every time humans come close to them.

10. Indian Roller, Kanha National Park, Madhya Pradesh

Rock n Roll- Indian Roller
Rock n Roll- Indian Roller

Indian Rollers are by no means rare birds. You can see them quite often near fields. But this picture is one of my favourites.

A new week and a new set of alphabets- what did you think of this post? Are you looking forward to more?

 

F for Fauna
F for Fauna
23 Comments Add yours

  1. joannesisco says:

    Your photographs are stunning! The Kingfisher and the lizard were particularly eye catching. Wow!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind comments!

  2. Anabel Marsh says:

    These pictures are amazing. I liked the kingfisher best too. India is still on my list of places I want to go to but haven’t made it yet. Some day!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Some day! You never know what life may bring! Thanks for visiting

  3. Carolina says:

    So lovely. The photos of the birds are fabulous. I love the elephant photo, too. I’d love to go on safari on day in India. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you for visiting! I do hope you manage to do a few safaris here!

  4. Lav says:

    These pictures are special! Definitely a treat for a monday…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hope you have a great week!

  5. Mahala says:

    great pictures – my favourites were the elephant, gaur and kingfisher. Thanks!

    Visiting from A-Z Challenge

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you for visiting and for the comments! I will visit your blog as well.

  6. Stunning pics! I am awed by your skills of capturing the image. The langurs and kingfishers look like they are posing for camera, and that Indian Gaur is just amazing.

  7. twittercat says:

    Gorgeous photos! Thank you for sharing them

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you for visiting!

  8. evy journey says:

    What charmed life you live! I’m envious. But pictures are the next best thing. Salamat. Merci. Grazzi. Gracias. Dziękuję.
    a2zer at http://eveonalimb.com

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Eva I believe a lot depends on the choices we make !

  9. akaimiko says:

    Awwwe those Langurs are so cute! And that Indian Roller is gorgeous! I love that shot of the elephant as well, I almost posted about elephants for the challenge, but I didn’t have a great reference pic like this one I could have used :/ eh well. Next year!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you. The langurs are great posers! Happy to share pics – just give me a shout!

  10. Richard says:

    In the interests of disclosure, Sukanya, do you know this person?

    http://dlonelystoner.wordpress.com/

    Or ARE you this person?

    They are replicating material from your A-Z about the following:

    Although Jayavarman VII was himself a Buddhist, the kings who succeeded after him were not and often many of the Buddhist imagery in the temple were…

    (I Googled a few sample paragraphs because I could not believe that your content was so prolific and so impressive for the A-Z.)

    Very best to you and I would love you to return. You are fiercely talented! 🙂

    Rich

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hi! I think she is also participating in the challenge from India and reblogged one of my posts!

  11. Gauri Dakhne says:

    super stuff Sukanya.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Gauri!

  12. Nirmala says:

    Can never tire of looking at animal pics! Looking forward for more

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Absolutely I’d love to go back to some of these places and maybe this time around I’ll actually see a tiger 😛

Leave a Reply

