Cats

I love cats. I think I have mentioned that already many times on my blog. Cats have an amazing presence and it is quite fascinating to observe their behaviour.  I’ve had cats around me almost all my life (or tried my best to attract them to me when one wasn’t automatically available).

About a month ago, I finally made a long overdue visit- to a few feline friends. Anybody who has been in Chennai for some length of time would know the amazing Amethyst Cafe. The person who runs Amethyst Ms Kiran Rao also has a cat shelter on the outskirts of the city. Cattitude- a non-profit organisation that helps cats and other animals helps run this shelter and I went with the objective of photographing some of the lovely cats that live in the shelter.

One of the first cats I came across in the shelter was Limca. He was very friendly and wanted us to pet him. However Limca has had a very sad story- the people who adopted him abandoned him (possibly abused him as well) and it later took him a very long time to calm down (he is still settling down- animals are as affected by traumatic events as humans).

Limca- Recovering after a trumatic past
Limca- Recovering after a trumatic past

Limca shares his quarters with Topsy- another beautiful cat who is unfortunately paralysed. She is still very attentive and loving.

Topsy- Paralysed but not defeated
Topsy- Paralysed but not defeated

Almost every cat in the shelter had a sad story behind them. As much as it was comforting to watch them live in happiness and peace at the shelter, thinking of what they had gone through before getting there made me quite sad.

Chinna- Lost an eye and family killed by gypsies
Chinna- Lost an eye and family killed by gypsies
Fettucine is blind but is very loving
Fettucine is blind but is very loving

 

And these were the cats that made it. Every day there are hundreds and thousands of animals out there on the streets suffering. It would mean a lot to them if we went just slightly out of our ways to show them a little kindness.

They made it- will you help other animals get a comfortable life?
They made it- will you help other animals get a comfortable life?

I regularly follow the good work done by these two organisations- maybe their actions might inspire you too!

Cattitude- https://www.facebook.com/CattitudeTrust
Save our Strays- http://www.saveourstraysmumbai.org/

There you go- third blog for the A to Z Challenge already! What do you think I should be writing about for the next alphabet?

C for Cats
C for Cats
21 Comments Add yours

  1. Apar says:

    You know am not a fan of cats more a dog lover myself but this is a wonderful post. You may not love these beautiful creatures but harm them? Traumatise them? How could anyone do it?! Brings a lump to the throat reading about how atrocious people can be to these animals.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I know- it’s not just cats but dogs, birds and all kinds of animals are tortured every day. People must not have any kind of humanity!

  2. ashokbhatia says:

    The feline and the canine creatures – what a joy!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes they are!

  3. Oh this is a beautiful blog!. Thanks so much for sharing your URL so I can visit and return. Cats have taken the day by storm (like they do every day.)
    Waging my dragon tail (cuz I can do that)

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yep! Cats are cool and so are dragons!

  4. Lav says:

    Ah the cats! They know how to make us love them. I want to hug every one of those fur balls you have put pictures up of.
    It was also a very good idea to write about the organizations that do such good but under appreciated work.
    Three cheers to both of them!
    Let me see…what is up for D? Denmark? Donald Duck? Diamonds? Druids?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Do you see me writing about Donald Duck?

      1. Lav says:

        Not really… but it was worth a shot…because you are also…Dynamic?

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        ummmm…

  5. Nirmala says:

    I had guessed that C would be cats for you!! I admire all the people who try to help animals in their own way. May their tribe never diminish!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Ha ha! C for cats was an easy guess!

  6. Carolina says:

    I also love cats. I never thought I would fall in love with these four legged creatures. They are so faithful and have kept me company during good and difficult times. I love to cuddle up next to my cats. Thanks for sharing about Cattitude.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I know! I adore cats! They are very affectionate but not in the same ways dogs are so a lot of people think cats are cold!

  7. Sigh. Cats. Love their mysterious ways. Great post from one fellow cat lover to another.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yep, I was so excited to find a blog about both books and cats!

  8. twittercat says:

    I am so broody for a new feline friend right now 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      They’re lovely aren’t they?

  9. akaimiko says:

    Oh my god, I wouldn’t be able to leave that shelter without adopting them all…all my cats have been rescues or strays for this reason. I wish I could adopt them all, actually! Someday when my empire is complete…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Then I wish that your empire is successful very soon! These cats and many more people to help them

Leave a Reply

