Not Just Another Serious Book: Le Vieux Qui Ne Voulait Pas Feter Son Anniversaire

(English Title: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared)

First off, I bought this book more than a year ago from amazon.fr I had then made up my mind to read more books in French (or any other language other than English) and I had been browsing amazon for best-sellers.  I was not in a mood for heavy classics so something light and contemporary was what I was looking for. So this seemed to fit the bill

Le Vieux Qui Ne Voulait Pas Feter Son Anniversaire
Le Vieux Qui Ne Voulait Pas Feter Son Anniversaire

What I didn’t realise until I actually opened the book was that this was actually a Swedish book written by a Swedish author Jonas Jonasson. The first thing I did was to check if the book had an English translation- sure enough not only was there an English translation but translations in a lot of other major languages

From Jonas Jonasson's website
From Jonas Jonasson’s website

The other surprising thing about the book was that it just did not turn out how I expected it to turn out.

Jonas Jonasson (http://jonasjonasson.com/) the author describes the book as “An intelligent, very stupid book”. And that’s exactly what the book is.

It starts off with a very old man in a care home. It is his 100th birthday and there is about to be a big celebration with local media involved. However the old man in question- Allan, jumps out of his window and walks off unnoticed to a big adventure involving everything from drug money to gruesome murders to corrupt politicians.  Except this is not just about one story about the old man and his adventure.

As we get into the story, the flashback about the old man’s story begins and we find out that he is not just another ordinary old man but someone who has played a key role in almost every major event of the 20th century- well I won’t tell you more for it will be a spoiler.

What I really liked about the book is it’s sense of humour.  It was a complete surprise for me and it made reading the book more fun and enjoyable (all 500 pages of it!). There is a bit of a Jasper Ffordey feel about the book- the same kind of crazy humour and amazing coincidences.

I highly recommend this book for a great light read. Here’s the amazon link

Another plus: All that reading about Sweden now has made me want to visit Sweden now!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Sounds mighty interesting!!! *adds to list*

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      If you buy the english version you can share it with amma

  2. Saravanakumaran says:

    Wish I took my french classes at mcc and AF enrolment more seriously 🙂 will try the English version of I can find it

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Hey, I would have read the English version myself if I had found it first 🙂

  3. Nirmala says:

    I must read it in English,ofcourse! You should go to Sweden!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes you can read Lavanya’s copy or I can get in on kindle.
      Yes to Sweden and Norway to see the Northern Lights

Leave a Reply

