Tree Climbing Monitor Lizard

I have not seen too many monitor lizards in my life. The few that I have seen in non-urban environments have always confined themselves to the ground- quickly flitting away when sensing human or other activity around them.

Imagine my surprise then when we found a monitor lizard astride a tree bark. Although not immediately vanishing from our sight, the monitor lizard slowly crawled to the other side of the tree where it felt we couldn’t observe it.

Monitor Lizard crawling up a tree
Monitor Lizard crawling up a tree
Crawling away gracefully from our sight
Crawling away gracefully from our sight
I never realized monitor lizards were quite so long
I never realized monitor lizards were quite so long

I was fascinated by the texture of its skin, its sharp claws (I somehow imagined they would have lizard like feet- though now that I think about it I do not clearly know what kind of feet lizard really have) and also its eyes. I am not sure what it was doing in the tree (apparently some monitor lizards are arboreal)- eating insects, stealing eggs?

 

Check out the claws (helps in climbing I suppose)
Check out the claws (helps in climbing I suppose)

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Mahesh Iyer says:

    Thanks for sharing, this is an awesome capture. The food chain in the world across species, is very interesting.

  2. Nirmala says:

    I dont know if you know this , their grip is supposed to be tremendously strong. It used to be said that robbers in olden days would throw them, tied to ropes ,over the wall and then climb. Infact in a tamil novel I am reading describes this as taking place in pandya kings times!!! Called”udumbu pidi”

  3. Nirmala says:

    Also wanted to mention that lizards too have tiny claws!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I had no idea that monitor lizards were used like that- wow! just proves how much I don’t know!

  4. Lav says:

    i wonder how they keep it that sharp?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      By scratching on sofas like our kitty chans I am sure 🙂

  5. woooaw badass! i saw my first one a few weeks ago, and its size was so unexpected that i was left entranced!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It was the same for me when I saw it first. Just couldn’t believe it

Leave a Reply

