The Tigers I Missed- Part I

Last year I made  a lot of trips to potential tiger hot spots- Kanha National Park, Bhadra Wildlife Sanctuary, Kabini. In an ideal scenario I should have returned from every one of these trips with my poster tiger pics. Tiger resting close to a water body, tiger crossing road, tiger resting in the shade of a tree etc etc (you get the drift). Except! It never happened.

While I didn’t even sight a single tiger at Bhadra, the ones at Kanha were so elusive that they avoided my camera frame (by some effective stealth).

The one at Kabini, I lost purely because my camera was not powerful enough to capture the tiger at a distance. One of those moments when I wished I had a super powerful lens and an SLR…

There He/ She goes
No way I'm looking at your camera

This tiger has special memories for me as I was the first person in our jeep to sight it. The tiger had its sights on a couple of young gaurs and was maybe wishing for a nice breakfast. The gaur pack would have none of it though. Three adults were all at attention and effectively manoeuvred the tiger into picking another option for breakfast. It didn’t help the tiger’s cause that there was also us in the safari jeep distracting both the gaurs and the tiger. I am sure he/ she had enough reason not to pose for us.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. sanetes says:

    I think the first tiger photo is pretty good! I suspect you need a lot of practise to do anything with a serious tele zoom lens. Mine is merely 300mm and I keep staring at the wrong twigs when I try to capture birds. I wonder how people find anything in a 600mm lens.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I so agree. My camera extends to the equivalent of about 500mm and I have such a hard time finding my subject- most often by the time I get it into the frame- the bird has flown away!

  2. Sathya says:

    Yeah those safari trips are always a hit and miss. I had did just once in the past and had always wanted to revisit to increase the probability of the sighting. Oh may be next time 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yes all safaris are like that. You just want to keep going so you can sight something

  3. Nirmala says:

    Yeah These Safari trips are like gambling and as addictive too making you want to go every single time to get a sighting!! Your photo is good though.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Exactly- absolutely the comparison I was looking for- exactly like gambling!

  4. Lav says:

    it is awesome thrill to sight an animal first! It is sad how endangered the tigers are! the poachers are everywhere!!! Hope they arent going to get this one! *fingers crossed*
    i like the second picture, it is a metaphor for the disappearing tiger…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      True and I hope these kitties stay safe

Leave a Reply

