Remember those Geography Lessons?

I am sure you do. Anybody who has had to sit through a class and recreate diagrams of the various stages of the flow of a river will completely relate to this.

I was on a flight to Singapore and was looking out the window. It was just past dawn where we were flying and the people below must have preparing themselves for a bright blue sky with swathes of white clouds. There I was staring at this river which was peeking out from between the clouds (or was it the river that was contemplating the aircraft between the clouds) when suddenly I remarked the meanderings of the river.

Meandering River

Loops upon loops and twists upon twists- the entire river seemed to be a never ending loop. This quite reminded me of the diagrams we used to draw in class tracing the formation of ox bow lakes. I wonder which one of these grand loops would be the next to get cut off?

(If you need to do a refresher on oxbow lakes- go here)

Twists and Turns

I don’t know the name of this river- I don’t even know which country it flows in. I wonder what the locals call it and whether they realise how snaky it is.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Vineet says:

    I demand Ox-bow lakes 😛

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      LOL, that’s a tough demand!

  2. Lav says:

    You never know what you are going to see when you look out of the window of an air craft!!! Where is that picture you took of the icelandic volcano???

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It actually wasn’t an icelandic volcano- I only called it that. I think it was from Turkey or someplace close

  3. Nirmala says:

    Very Interesting ! You must research and tell us the name of the river.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I have no clue how I will go about doing it!

Leave a Reply

