The Countdown to 250 Posts & 3 years of WordPress

The things that have changed me most – #2 Travel

I am not a big fan of cliches and yet I can not come up with anything better than ‘Travel broadens your horizons’. Travel is my favourite advice and remedy to any ailment or preoccupation ranging from headaches to chronic boredom.

Over the last 10-12 years I have spent (and been encouraged to spend by my family) a considerable portion of my time and resources on travel. So much so now that I realise that the last seven months of relative untravel have been beginning to grate. Needless to say I plan to pack my bags soon.

Many a fun quiz app on facebook or some other social media website will try and reveal to you the kind of traveller you are. I have never taken these tests for I know the kind of traveller I am.

I don’t like randomness. I like to plan most of the major details of my trip well in advance and now with google earth it seems almost possible to plan a virtual reconnaissance of your entire itinerary before you even start to pack your bags. I like to seize the day and pack it full of things to do- which often means that I land up waking much much earlier during my holidays than during work days- which also means that I most often return to work more exhausted than when I left. But then the time after one bout of travel needs strictly to be used for the next bout.

But like knowledge, you realise that the more you travel- the more you realise how little you have actually travelled.

From the ruins
To the Present
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Your post makes me want to travel, too!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It definitely makes me want to travel too. I haven’t been travelling for a while now and I am quite restless. Hopefully not for long

  2. Lav says:

    travel is enlightenment! i love the contrast

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      It is indeed.

  3. Nirmala says:

    Yes , we all wish we could travel and travel and never have to worry about other things!!! I wish you to travel as much as possible and keep giving us interesting pictures and comments.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you. Hopefully get to pack my bags soon!

Leave a Reply

