The Countdown to 250 posts & 3 Years of WordPress

Well frankly, I ran out of ideas about what I wanted to do with my blog today when I noticed that the number of posts in my blog hovered conveniently near a landmark figure. I also happened to remember that I started with this blog just about three years ago. The first couple of years were a bit slow for my blog both in terms of content generation and in terms of viewership. But the last year has seen all that change for the better.

So I got this idea in my head that I had to commemorate this occasion with a recollection of a few things that have left a mark on me. But three years seemed too short a time for me to gather sufficient things and so I conveniently decided to add another landmark number ’10’ into the equation and write about some of the things that have made a big impression on me over the last 10 years over the next 5 (or so if I get carried away) posts.

In no particular order of importance….

1. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy & Other Books

I have this photograph of my former bedroom wall covered with about 6 different posters- all from the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and the movies (this photo only survives physically and I am too lazy to scan it now). But needless to say- the books made a huge impression on my life. It was exactly 10 years ago that I got to see the Fellowship of the Ring in the cinema (10 years ago some movies released in cinemas in India only a few months after their international release- how things have changed!). And I relished every bit of that experience.

I read the books at a time when I guess my life was not so full of interesting activities (being thoroughly immersed in my PGDBM) so when I experienced them, it was as though somebody had taken a large paintbrush, dipped it in bright colours and then used it to paint over a monochrome wall. For someone who had not been so into books at that point of time, Tolkien’s works made sure that I would never again consider reading as just a hobby.

The perfectly crafted storyline, the brilliant narrative, the beauty of the prose and the strong message that the Lord of the Rings brought with it changed my perspective on books for ever.

Interestingly this was also the time that I had started going increasingly online- including to an exclusive Tolkien forum to discuss his works. We were the fanatics and we would spend hours online doing everything from having high level discussions of the cosmology of the Tolkienian universe to scrabble games where LOTR related words got you bonus points. Needless to say I made a bunch of friends there- some of whom I am still in touch with.

I have come a long way from my fanatic days (though even in my fanatic days I was never fanatic enough to attempt reading the History of Middle Earth series or HOME as it was fondly called by other fanatics- 9 volumes that dealt with how Tolkien’s works and universe evolved in his thoughts) but I would be a liar if I said that experience did not change me.

From imparting a love for books to even teaching me tech tips online I have a lot to be thankful for Tolkien and his majestic oeuvre.

I realise that I have after a long time posted something without images – but this will be rectified in future posts!

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Maybe I should start with LOTR soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Start NOW!!!!

      1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. lav says:

    Lotr is timeless!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      LIKE

  3. Nirmala says:

    Thanks to you , I saw the movie countless times and read the book also..It is among the great books of our times indeed!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Poor you, but I guess we both enjoyed it!

  4. Nirmala says:

    Keep up the Good Work! Best Wishes

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

