Who is this beauty?

(Later Edit: I have been told that this is a black shouldered kite)

Driving through some wilderness today, I spotted this bird which I am unable to identify. Can anyone help?

The location was somewhere between Pulicat Lake and Ponneri (in Tamil Nadu, India) and the bird made a sort of whistling noise.

Unfortunately I had to capture the shot in very bad and harsh light and the picture is not as good as I would have wanted it to be- but it serves as a record shot.

Spotted between Pulicat and Ponneri
Whistling Noise
Who could you be?
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    i lost my heart to this one! such a beautiful bird!!! the first shot is th best!! looks intriguing….

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yeah me too. It was sitting on a pole, I was trying to shoot an Indian Roller on another pole. This one didnt fly away

      1. Lav says:

        not so shy, nor so quick to judge…:)

  2. what an awesome looking owl!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  3. I think these are wonderful shots. I love the colours, the look in its eyes, feathers blowing in the wind.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you very much, it was such a beauty- I just wish the sun hadn’t been so high up in the sky

  4. Nirmala says:

    This beauty is well worth the troubles one has to go through driving there ,I guess!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    The picture has come out nicely.The bird also cooperated sitting still for a while!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I know, it sat there and patiently posed for me- amazing bird!

Leave a Reply

