Bactrian Magpie

When I was learning history at school I always used to be fascinated by the term ‘Bactrian’. I was somehow under the impression that there was a connection with bacteria and germs- maybe Bactria was a land of dangerous bugs? Sure enough I am sure many of my classmates and I often preferred spelling it ‘Bacterian’ rather than ‘Bactrian’.

So when the chance came for me to travel to a land where I could see ‘Bactrian Magpies’ and ‘Bactrian Camels’ I was thrilled. It made it feel like travelling to a land where I could come face to face with the Mongols or the first of the Mughals- a land of mountains and mysteries.

I managed to get this shot of the Bactrian Magpie with much difficulty- they are not difficult to spot- far from it- anywhere in Leh you get to see plenty of them- just that I never got a good chance to get a proper full view image (as this one cuts off its rather long rear feathers). I didn’t get to see the Bactrian Camels though- that will have to wait another time  (and so will the Bactrian historical figures).

Welcome to Bactria!
10 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s holding its head high..:) awesome click 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  2. lav says:

    That bird is cool! It has its feet set apart, like its saying ‘this is my place!’

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yep we were on its territory!

  3. such a stark contrast in colours! Black, white and green – striking!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you 🙂

  4. Nirmala says:

    Lovely photo!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you ma!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you, they are so beautiful to look at

Leave a Reply

