Shikra Surprise

I  travelled to Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary last week with a friend in the hope of photographing a few birds. The last time I had visited the place was in March earlier this year and I was hoping that I would be able to continue on the good run I had back then. Surprisingly however, the park was much quieter and apart from the storks and the cormorants in the lake there seemed to be few other birds to spot to my untrained eye.

As I was walking along the moat that has been constructed along the banks of the lake I suddenly came upon this beauty. The bird was seated well inside the neem tree and was balancing itself on its perch against the strong winds. From my initial position it was almost impossible to see the bird in good light and it was only after considerable kneeling and sliding down on the other side of the moat that I managed to finally get a few shots in good light.

And behind all the foliage was the elusive bird

Being no birding expert I could not immediately identify the bird. Being perched well inside the tree it was almost impossible for me to get a clear shot and there was always a twig or two that was in the foreground. The first shot shows just how much foliage I had to get out of the frame before I could get a clear shot at the bird.

I guess the bird was pleased I took so much effort

The bird (who I eventually deduced to be a Shikra- I find it impossible to identify some species of birds to be of one type or the other- clearly I am a novice) however, seemed to be very patient and posed for a full five minutes (my calf muscles were screaming by this time because of the weird position that I had taken up) before disappearing.

Posing for five minutes

The Shikra made my trip to Vedanthangal memorable and satisfying!

Shikra (Accipeter Badius) Surprise
14 Comments Add yours

  1. lav says:

    Such a cutie!! Autograph please!!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I know- it was such a beauty

  2. 50 States Design Project says:

    I love the first one. Awesome shot.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you!

  3. its come out really well!!! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Mathagi, sorry it flew away before you could get a decent shot

  4. Nirmala says:

    Such a cute bird or baby bird? Lovely.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yeah I was wondering if it was a juvenile- seemed rather small when seen in real life- not sure now

      1. Lav says:

        juveniles are bigger than parents from all the cncentrated attention and food. Its the parents that look smaller from running hither and thither… 😀

      2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        I can imagine- poor avian parents lose so much weight

  5. sanetes says:

    Cool bird! Birds aren’t the most patient models, are they?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      They never are, somehow this one waited until I was completely done before it flew away. miracles do happen I guess 🙂

  6. Brad says:

    What a regal looking bird!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yeah, A stunner!

Leave a Reply

