The Marmots have arrived

Those who have been following my blog for a while now would know that I have been working my way through my visit to Ladakh earlier in July this year. One of the highlights of the trip was my encounter with the Himalayan Marmots. For those of you who don’t know (like me before my visit) Marmots are large ground squirrels living in burrows. They are extremely cute and cuddly and the more savvy ones will pose for biscuits. Like the one below…

Will pose for Treats- Motto of the Himalayan Marmot
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna-Lee says:

    I love this! I have never seen a Marmot πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks so much for your comment. Am glad you liked it!

  2. Whata great portrait of this little guy,. He looks like he’s posing. I love this. πŸ™‚

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      He definitely knew what he was doing…thanks!

  3. Nirmala says:

    He can be the mascot of the place! With the mountains in the background , looks as though he is asking you to visit!!! Cute picture.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thats an interesting perspective- hadn’t thought of it before but I guess yeah he can definitely advertise the natural beauty of the place!

  4. Brad says:

    Great pic! I am also happy to pose for biscuits, byt the way!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I think we have to negotiate…

  5. Lav says:

    the marmot is old and venerable. he has seen all. so he poses.
    Brad – you must NOT settle for biscuits – unless they had chocolate somewhere on it…. πŸ™‚
    Ma is right – this picture is definitely capturing the essence of the region…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Marmot may have been venerable but he still didn’t get a biscuit from the group. I doubt Brad will

Leave a Reply

