Change is Easy- Thanks to WordPress

It has been a while since I started thinking about changing the layout of my blog a little. The last time I changed the layout of my blog was when my blog went through a renaissance phase- starting about late February with my posting photographs that I was taking as part of my new hobby. As more and more content was added to the blog however, it took very little time for things to get lost. Photographs or posts that dropped to the second page soon went down the ‘Out of Sight Out of Mind’ route.

It was in this context that I wanted to give a slightly more organised feel to my blog- make it more my website rather than just a blog. And I guess this is where WordPress makes it really easy and free to customise your own space on the web.

I have changed my blog in a number of ways- the first and most obvious feature is that I have changed the header picture- a photograph I took on the borders of Lake Pangong in Ladakh.

Second- I have added a new menu with sub-heads. Each Sub-head has a listing of posts that come under that category. Travel obviously has a drop-down menu which reads Himalayas, Kanha and Rajasthan. I have not yet completely categorised my 160-odd posts and I hope to do it over the next couple of days. This will hopefully make it easier for old-timers to dig out their favourite content and for first-time visitors to get a feel of the different subjects I take up in my blog.

Third- The Twenty Eleven theme provided by wordpress also allowed for a Featured Post space. I will use this space to display content that I feel deserves to be on the front page for a few days. I start with my black and white photo of Darcha.

I have also added a twitter-feed to my sidebar as I am considerably active on twitter as well these days. Hopefully you will find something of interest there as well.

A big thank you to everyone who has loyally followed my blog. I hope to keep working on this and improving it over the days, weeks, months and years to come.

Thank you!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Nirmala says:

    The change does look interesting. easier to look for something specific for old timers and regulars like me.Wish you all the best.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you very much!

  2. Lav says:

    Great job in cross referencing! I’m sure there is more work to be done – but this is a great start. Can fans make requests for featured blogs?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I guess so- though there are only a few fans so may be more relevant when we’ve built up a fan base

  3. Brad says:

    Love the new layout, especially the pic at the top! – very nice, readable format

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you! Could you send me the ipad screenshot as well sometime?

Leave a Reply

