The Owls Have the Last Laugh

The last episode of my chronicles saw me kinda taunting a little owlet over its airs. I had turned away with a good laugh thinking that I had had my share of owlet sightings, but I should have known better. We had not even gone the entire length of the safari when I already started feeling bad. What if the young owlet spread the word that I laughed at birds? What if none of them would cooperate with me anymore? I was crestfallen and wanted some reassurance.

Sure enough I cheered myself that I could hopefully catch another sighting of the very same owlet on my way back (the tree being very close to the gate). As I approached, I saw an owlet sitting in the oblong and my heart leaped with joy at the thought that I could make amends, only for it to fall to the lowest depths. For in the oblong was perched a different owlet, an older and more assured owlet who could look me in my face and make me cringe.

The pictures say it all (modified as the original photos were shot in bad light!)

Well, well, well, back so soon young lady? They normally take at least a day to come back. But you were back in what? 2 hours?
(To the other owlets inside) What did I tell y'all? She's back alright!
What are you still looking at? Apologise and get out of here before the park gate closes for the night

I can’t say I remember what happened next.  I did get other shots of birds though, so I guess I must have apologised. Oh well! There’s no winning with the owlets.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Apar says:

    You better have apologised 🙂 😉 Nice shots!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I did and profusely 🙂

  2. Nirmala says:

    I hope you apologised properly! What expressive faces these owls have!!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Yep. They are one of the most expressive species I think

  3. Vineet says:

    I liked the sepia tone.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Vineet, hope you are well!

  4. Lav says:

    That owl IS bossy!! Wow, what expressive faces. I can well believe that stance to be admonishing. The owl is in the hall of fame of they-who-can-make-Suki-cringe!!! hahahahaha…

  5. Sunanda says:

    This one sure does look drunk on wisdom.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I believe the expression is Smug

  6. Get the phone?? – …That was the best! 🙂

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      ha ha ha what can I say- I was inspired!

      1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

