Ode to the Woodpecker

Ok- maybe not an ode because I can’t write poetry to save myself. A dedication then!

Silhouette

I grew up in a large house surrounded by a nice garden with many trees of all kinds. As this house was also in the suburbs and located close to a woodland area, there were all manners of birds that used to visit my house.

Up above the world so high

So used was I to this that I never did realise how wonderful it was to actually watch a woodpecker bore a hole in a coconut tree, or observe a kingfisher lazily perched upon a rod watching to see if it could catch any frogs. I did not spare a second thought to the common sparrows let alone the Mynas (notice M caps!). The red vented bulbuls came often to say ‘peek-a-boo’ but I sat engrossed with my books and never replied. So what chance did the wagtail stand when he dropped in for a visit? The coucal occasionally caught my eye but I only thought of him to be a tanned crow (shame on me I know!)

Up-Close but not Personal

I was spoilt and I didn’t realise it until I moved to the city a few years ago. No garden, no birds (but for the crows and pigeons- but are they birds or have they morphed into humans now?- so close they live to us).

Hulloooo...Anybody Home?

So when I chanced upon a golden-backed woodpecker upon the beach(yes! I have a book now to know their names) I had fond memories of the days and the birds gone by. Not one more chance will I miss to say hello to them- if they would deign to greet me that is.

Not Interested
14 Comments Add yours

  1. sujatha koduvayur says:

    adorable bird, semi-lyrical prose (tanned crow…on me I know) and great photos! You are getting a bit too good at this 🙂

    1. Kerry says:

      It’s such a delight to hear your stories and see the amazing photography…transports me right back to India every time….thx so much! 🙂

      1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

        Thank you Kerry, good to see you again. Let me know when you are visiting India next!

    2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I hope so. I would despair if I wasn’t improving after months of effort. But thank you for the comments 🙂 Hope things are well

  2. Nirmala says:

    very beautiful pictures.Love them.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      🙂

  3. Lav says:

    love the lyrical write up. very cool!!the picture of the woodpecker is lovely too…

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you 🙂

  4. brad says:

    wonderful photos. How do you manage to spot all these wonderful birds????

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thanks Brad. They’re all there- its just that we never see them. That was what I was trying to say in my post as well. I’ve grown up watching all these birds but never really appreciated them.

  5. mohsingilani says:

    here woodpeckers are a bit different but equally beautiful. very nice post.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Thank you very much for the comments and for visiting!

  6. Vineet says:

    Nice pics! If you observed the birds when you were young and then moved to the city, you would still miss them.

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I miss them now but I didn’t miss them then!

Leave a Reply

