And now for some blue skies

The more I get involved in photography, the more I am tempted to look at some of the older photographs that I had shot during my visits to see if I could tempt anything out of them. I expected most of them to be crap considering that I had shot them on my humble point and shoot Olympus, but surprisingly I found some photographs of charming quality.

I chose these three photographs from my visit to Southern France last year because I was stunned by the beauty of the sky in the background of the photographs. I had hardly noticed them at that point. Makes me wish that I could go back and capture more images. But I am happy that I managed to get at least the few I have.

Notice how some parts of the cloud seem to melt away and fall down- from the Roman ruins at Glanum
From Glanum once again- a poignant ruin against the massive sky
Strings of clouds- from atop the Basilica of Notre Dame de la Garde- Marseille

I had been considering giving away my Olympus to charity. But these shots have convinced me that it needs to remain a back-up camera in my pack for the days to come.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunanda says:

    Yes, I learnt that equipment definitely helps but photography is not just about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the last one. Stunning angle!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      I know. I so am not gonna throw away my Olympus now. The last one better had looked good. I almost died trying to get there. Someday I’ll tell the story.

  2. Nirmala says:

    Very good photos. As a loyal follower of your blog what happened after you found there was no button for 5th floor?

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      There was not much more to the story. I felt it was better left in suspense like that. But thanks for remembering ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lav says:

    blue skies…always makes me think of vacations….*sigh* all three pictures are gorgeous…The last one is just amazing to me….

  4. brad says:

    Those photos are amazing. I love the one of Glanum!

    1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

      Visiting Glanum was very special for me somehow. That place has a special air about it.

Leave a Reply

