180,763 bloggers, 181,575 new posts, 42,408,085 words today…*

*And I am just one among these bloggers contributing to the torrent of  new posts and words. One Word- Depressing!

* I could not decide on what to title this post- Blogger’s Block (a la writer’s block), Death of a Blogger (a la Death of a Salesman- but hey I am no Arthur Miller), Blogger Suicide (but I just wrote a post titled brand suicide- which incidentally is my most active post in the blog, although my blog viewership itself is floundering at best). So for an inspirational title, I just copy pasted the first thing I saw when I logged into wordpress.

Enough already about the title!

I read this very “inspirational” quote a while ago on a calendar that a colleague of mine had on her desk:

“The beginning of a habit is like an invisible thread, but everytime we repeat the act, we strengthen the strand, add to it another filament, until it becomes a great cable and binds us irrevocably in thought and act”.

Surely the above quote needs some rephrasing and must be as below:

“The beginning of a every bad habit is like an invisible thread, but everytime we repeat the act, we strengthen the strand, add to it another filament, until it becomes a great cable and binds us irrevocably in thought and act”.

Would you not agree with me when I say that  threads like  ‘eating junk-food’, ‘postponing classwork’, ‘incessant napping’ and the like are a lot less invisible and bind us more easily than those like ‘staying current with news’, ‘finishing assignments on time’, ‘sleeping lesser’ which just happen to more invisible and seem to unravel faster the more frequently we try them?

Take this blog for example, every additional day I posted a blog, I took courage from looking at the quote thinking I would have a strong cable that would pull me through to writing another post. I should have known that it was only wishful thinking! At the least opportunity I skipped writing for three days and it has taken me an enormous amount of will and some elven rope to get back to writing.

Hang in there Frodo!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lav says:

    Hang in there! I think you are giving the blogging too much thought…if everyone did, there wouldnt be so many to begin with…I will share some funny pictures over the week end for you to write about…ha ha… and may be the upcoming vacation will cheer you out of the bloggers block….

  2. sr256 says:

    I hope so too!

Leave a Reply

