To tweet or not to tweet

(Oh will we ever resist the temptation to use over-cliched titles!)

So this officially is the era of online social networking. If you are online, you most probably have a webmail account,  a blog (to rant about how loud your neighbours are!), and you have your profile uploaded on facebook (or linkedin for those more professionally minded). Of course if you are a little bit more clued-in you probably also download podcasts and get fed (up) with uninterrupted rss feeds from news sites…or if you really are at the top end of the food chain- you tweet and get tweeted (apparently to twitter and to facebook are officially verbs so you can go ahead with the conjugations- I facebook/ I tweet, you facebook/ you tweet, he facebooks/ he tweets etc.,).

With the phenomenon that was the Obama election campaigning mechanism, almost the entire world suddenly began talking about facebook and twitter.

The former has already been invaded by the masses (in fact a recent article in the Time Magazine (here) very correctly pointed out how older people find facebook a lot more fun and useful than younger people- and to think I was once part of a facebook that was open only to students of colleges with college mail-ids!!)

The latter however still remains a mystery to most. Including myself to a certain extent.   The USP of twitter is that you get to tell the world what you are doing in 140 characters (not words) or less. And you can also follow other people tweeting. I dont see how this is any more different than the status update on facebook. And so I don’t see why I have to bother signing up for yet another social networking website to only c/p my status messages from facebook.  Unless the only thing I wanted to do was show off !!

Here’s some interesting and humorous readings on the subject while you are at it.
Quitting Twitter
CIA following Bin Laden on Twitter

Enjoy! And choose wisely 😛

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunanda says:

    Tell me about it! I just don’t get it! But here’s a career option for crazy souls like us- http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/27/technology/internet/27twitter.html?_r=1&hp.

    I just might freelance now!

    1. sr256 says:

      Indeed this sounds interesting, but I dont know if I have makings of a ghost tweeter

Leave a Reply

